My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic Vol.1 by Katie Cook, Andy Price: review

My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic, Volume 1My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic Vol.1 by Katie Cook, Andy Price

Series: My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #1

My Rating: 4.5 out of 5 Stars

Age Group: Middle Grade/Young Adult

Genre: Fantasy

Publisher: IDW Publishing

Release Date: May 21st 2013

Synopsis: Welcome to Ponyville, home of Twilight Sparkle, Rainbow Dash, Rarity, Fluttershy, Pinkie Pie, Applejack, and all your other favorite Ponies! Something’s not right in the town though, as some of the inhabitants are acting very, very strange! It’s up to the Mane Six to find the source of the weirdness before it’s too late!

My Thoughts:

I have been a big fan of the My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic T.V. show for quite some time now. For me, the friendship between the six amazing ponies and their unique personalities are always fun to watch. So when I got accepted to read the first volume in the My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic comic series I squeed with joy.*

image

Squee!

And then after the squee-fest, I read the comic. And omg, I loved it!

The story begins with the changeling queen, Queen Chrysalis turning every pony in Ponyville into pod-ponies and replacing them with changeling duplicates. She also manages to kidnap the Cute-Mark Crusaders. This eventually begins the Mane Six’s epic adventure to save the fillies they care about.

I loved revisiting the ponies that I have come to love oh so much, especially Pinkie Pie. She is such a random and adorable pony. She creates much of the random funny moments in this comic and also wears many of the hilarious facial expressions.

That isn’t to say that the other ponies don’t shine brightly! Rainbow Dash is still confident, Twilight is still a bit nerdy, Fluttershy is still really sweet (although she does get REAL angry in this volume), Applejack is still awesomely country, and Rarity is still obsessed with the state of their hair. And all of these characters are strong and reliable when it comes to protecting their friends.

I can not give enough praise to the artist of this comic, Andy Price. The illustrations really made the story come alive! The colors are all bright and eye-catching, and the facial expressions drawn are what made me love this comic so much!  The art is very similar to the style of the show, but Andy Price does add some touches that are his alone.

mlpcapture

Click to make the image larger

The comedy element in this comic is well done. Sometimes I feel like people think that comedy is making a character do something incredibly stupid, but the creators of this get it right. It isn’t stupid, but smart. I don’t think I have laughed so much reading a comic 🙂

Overall, this was a great read that will definitely appeal to children and probably teenagers and adults. The story contains important messages that are important for people to learn, but the messages don’t bog down the story. In fact, it makes it better. So would I recommend this? OMG, YES!

*Yes, I squee whenever I see anything that has to do with My Little Pony and I am proud 😛

An advanced copy of this book was provided in exchange for a honest review

*Yes, I squee over My Little Pony and I am proud 🙂

2 thoughts on “My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic Vol.1 by Katie Cook, Andy Price: review

Leave a comment