Cheers To The “Ordinary Guys”

One of the things that I love most are the “ordinary guys” of the Young Adult genre. I tried to come up with a better name with this group of characters, but I couldn’t. I’m just not that clever. The thought is still there, though! Before I continue with this post, I need to put it out there that this is just my own view on what an “ordinary guy” is, which is completely based on my own experiences with meeting and interacting with people. So, your opinion might be different from mine.

What I believe to be an ordinary guy is a male character who I feel is similar to a guy that I would most likely come across in life. Which means that he is not a handsome, charming, dreamy boy, but a boy that burps out loud, messes up with his words, crack perverted jokes, do stupid things that boys and just people in general do, and be a little irritating at times. And, not forgetting the good qualities, can be funny, kind and affectionate in his own way, make the people who hang around him comfortable and happy, and stay on your side and try to help you out when you need the help.

Of course, I am going to need to give and take a few difference traits for every ordinary guy (both fictional and real) I encounter since everyone is different πŸ˜‰ Not everybody can be funny or burp out loud and at will. Not everybody can make all the people hanging around them feel comfortable and happy. I know that, but I also know that an ordinary boy is not going to be a “dream guy”. I really hope that I am making at least some sense.

Unfortunately, ordinary guy characters are starting to get ignored and replaced by handsome men who are able to steal the heart of the heroine right when they first meet and protect her at any given moment. Which isn’t exactly bad, really. I mean, a book is used as a means to escape the real world and immerse yourself in another one. Adding a dream guy isn’t going to hurt anything, and they do fit well in certain stories. But I do think that the amount of dream guys that are popping up is a little ridiculous. It’s getting to the point that I could create a gigantic fictional host club. And I am totally not referencing to a manga series.Β I totally am.

When an author is writing a guy character that can be a little perverted and messes up at wooing a girl at times(a great example would be Justin from A Really Awesome Mess), it takes a little work in order to make them win the hearts of the readers, and even then it is still risky. But when an author writes a dream guy, it doesn’t take that much work in order to get the character to be loved. Which makes me think that the growing number of dream guys are because authors don’t want to take the risk.

But the thing is that the risk and works it takes to write an ordinary guy who burps and can do stupid things at times is what makes those type of male characters such treasures. Every person I have met in my life has many different traits that show in different situations. So the ordinary guys in books are going to have a hodge podge of different traits, good qualities and flaws, that make them so authentic and real. Yes, giving a character certain traits may be a little risky and cause readers to dislike them, but it is like that in reality also. Dream guy characters don’t take the amount of risk and work that makes ordinary guy characters so great.

So, cheers to the ordinary guys who burp, talk to loud, accidentally kill moments, don’t have the ability to pick out good gifts, mix things up, have weird hair, can’t remember necessary things, and a whole lot of other stuff that make them so loved by me.

Don’t agree with me? Want to add something else? Think I don’t make any sense (which is totally possible)? Please tell in the comments. I would love to discuss!

14 thoughts on “Cheers To The “Ordinary Guys”

  1. Yes! I’m all for ordinary guys! Yeah, it’d be nice if every guy was drop dead gorgeous, but that’s usually not the case. And even if they were that amazing, are they always going to be attracted to the ordinary girls? I’m an ordinary girl and I don’t think so. I rather be able to relate to the love in a story that is built on personality and communication than good looks. (Though I will say the burping? I’ll pass on that one πŸ˜‰ )

    • Huzzah! Lol, it would be nice, though I like a few imperfections here and there πŸ˜‰ Relationships built on personality and communication are the ones that I found most interesting to read about–and experience. They are are just much more fun!

      Heh, I can’t exactly pass on the burping since most of the guys (and girls) I know have a thing for it πŸ˜›

  2. As I read your post I was trying to remember the last time I read a book with an ordinary guy as a love interest but I can’t think of one which is kinda sad. This is going to bother me all day now because I know there’s a few out there but I can’t remember.

    Anyway awesome post! And I completely agree with you.

  3. I love this post, Lottie! I am cheering you on that you have wrote a post like this. ” It’s getting to the point that I could create a gigantic fictional host club.” Oh, I see what you did there. Haha ;D But I prefer it staying in mangas–please not books. Please no. I have actually read more “ordinary guys” than those oh so smancy guys everyone seem to love. Like Saving Francesca–Will. Dress Rehearsal–Nathan. Wait. I see a trend–it’s only in contemporary books! DX I definitely adore these guys, though they might disgust you a bit sometimes, they charm me so much. ❀

    • I knew that you would get the reference ^_^ I never really mind it in manga, probably because I like my manga guys pretty πŸ˜› And Ouran doesn’t exactly have dream guys– Tamaki and the rest of the gang are pretty abnormal!

      Contemporary is really the only place that ordinary guys are frequently in, which I find sad. They are almost never in paranormal, mystery, historical fiction, etc. But I don’t get why. Like you said, they are just so charming πŸ™‚

      And thank you!

  4. Pingback: The Sunday Post(12) | book adoration

  5. “gigantic fictional host club” LOL
    Great post! I agree, it’s risky to write normal guys and I think it’s hard to get it right (to make them just the right amount of awkward and charming) but when they do? Wow~ So much better than those flawless “heroes”

    • Yup! I’m pretty sure you know what I am talking about XD

      Thank you! Normal guys definitely need a balance to work right, but like you said, they are amazing and way better than dreamy, flawless guys when the author does get it right.

  6. I agree with you. Authors do play safe at times. Sometimes it’s like ‘forget about ordinary guys, let’s introduce two or three dream guys in a book just to confuse the lead girl’, scenario. Haha. I totally get you, girl!

Leave a Reply

