Memorable Moments… (2)

oie_0Ri8axD9mhUe

So here is a second Memorable Moments post! I’m actually loving this feature, since I will be able to revisit stories that I have read in the past and share my favorite parts with you 🙂 Sure, some of them might not seem very memorable in your mind, but it’s still very fun to share them. And then there is always the possibility that someone thinks a moment that I shared as memorable also.

For this post, I am going to share some of the more… out-there moments that have been stuck in my mind for a while. One of them will be from Splintered by A.G. Howard and another will be from The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey. I say they are ‘out-there’ because the first one is extremely weird, the second is intense and serious.

Splintered (Splintered, #1)Splintered by A.G. Howard
Page: 211

“Twinkle!” the white ferret shouts. He scrambles onto the table with a spoon in hand, only to get toppled by the roasted duck. I catch my furry companion before he falls headfirst off the edge. His spoon jangles to the floor beside his helmet. With his cap gone, his bald scalp is revealed–the skin so thin, his brain shows through. He doesn’t even have a skull.

He snuggles in my lap. “Datum. Datum very much, angel light!” Beady pink eyes study me, soft with morbid adoration. I’m so captivated by the strangeness of this creature, I don’t realize a mob is coming our way, flailing their mallets in a chaotic rush for their prize.

So this little scene tells the story of Alyssa’s first meeting with a ferret-looking creature, called a Mustela, in Wonderland awhile she is attending a feast where the guest fight each other in hopes of catching the roasted duck, which is apparently a teeny bit alive. I love this part of the book mainly because the Mustela is so morbidly cute–to me, anyways. I also believe that the moment shows the more playful and cute side to this otherwise… disturbing Wonderland that is created in Splintered.

The 5th Wave (The Fifth Wave, #1)The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey
Page: 101

I might be–no, I probably am–doomed.

But if I’m it, the last of my kind, the last page in human history, like Hell I’m going to let the story end this way.

I may be the last one, but I am the one still standing. I am one turning to face the faceless hunter in the woods on an abandoned highway. I am the one not running, not staying, but facing.

Because if I am the last one, then I am humanity.

And if this is humanity’s last war, then I am the battlefield.

The amount of impact and power Cassie’s words have in this passage is kind of insane. Really, I think that this is one of her most powerful moments. Cassie is one of those protagonist who stay sarcastic and full of dark humor, which is good considering that if she didn’t, this novel would be more depressing than it already is. But then you see her say something like the above and you can’t help but snap to attention and notice how much determination she has to survive the alien invasion even if the world is in ruins.

********************************

So, have you read any of these books? Do you have any thoughts? Please tell in the comments 🙂

7 thoughts on “Memorable Moments… (2)

  1. I haven’t read either books, but have heard great things about both of them! These passages make me more eager to pick them up! The Splintered one is just so… crazy?! That small passage just makes me incredibly curious about the rest of the book. (And c’mon, that cover is so pretty!) And I’ve heard TONS of great things about The 5th Wave. I haven’t felt as much desire to pick that one up for some reason, but that passage definitely caught my attention! Such a kick-ass, all-or-nothing kind of attitude. Full of fight. Love it!

    • Asti, I assure you that awhile I love the moment I showed above, the rest of the book is much more strange. Alice in Wonderland retellings will always be that way XD The 5th Wave is a fantastic book and Cassie is such of a bad ass 😛

  2. Teeheehee, I loved that scene from Splintered, too! I forgot about all the shenanigans that went on at the dinner tables in that book. So much fun. 🙂

  3. Pingback: The Sunday Post(11) | book adoration

Leave a Reply

