Japanese Literature Challenge #1

I have a bloggy friend named Cayce who posted about joining in on this challenge. So thanks to her, I have learned about the challenge and decided to join in on it also. So now I’m posting about it. Huzzah! I’ve actually entered in quite a few challenges this year, but haven’t exactly been committed to them as I should be. Hopefully this challenge, which started on June 1 and ends January 30, 2014, will be a different story as I swear that it was calling out to me.

You see, I really love manga. Reading a series chapter by chapter, falling in love with it a little bit more with each chapter, and just pretty much being a fangirl is something that I like doing. But I would also like to get into the other types of Japanese literature, which is why I decided to sign up for The Japanese Literature Challenge. I believe that it will give me a little push to read a variety of Japanese literature awhile still not putting myself under any pressure. I will be able to read novels, manga, light novels, short stories, poetry, anything to do with Japanese literature and let it count towards the challenge 🙂

I really don’t have a set list of books to read since I am a mood reader, but here is a sample:

Brave Story (Novel)Attack on Titan 3Spice & Wolf, Book 1Kamikaze Girls The Girl Who Leapt Through TimeGoth: A Novel of HorrorAsleepNatsume's Book of Friends, Volume 1

Brave Story by Miyuki Miyabe This novel has been sitting on my shelf unread for a long, long time because the amount of pages has been scaring me off. It’s over eight hundred pages! But I am determined to read it this year… at some point. *gulps*

Attack on Titan Vol.3 by Hajime IsayamaI got interested in the story upon reading volume one, fell in love by volume two, and am itching for volume three. I’ve already ordered it and it should come in the mail by tomorrow. Yay! And just to be stupid

Spice & Wolf Vol.1 by Isuna Hasekura This is the first book in a light novel series. I really can’t wait to get into this book since my love for Holo and the banter between her and Lawrence  has reawakened after watching season two of the anime, sooo.

Kamikaze Girls by Novala Takemoto- What really made me perk up at the thought of reading this book was the fact that one of the main characters loves Lolita fashion. Also, the idea of a girly girl becoming friends with a girl in a biker gang is very appealing to me 😛

The Girl Who Leapt Through Time by Yasutaka Tsutsui- I am familiar with this book only because it has an anime based on its title story. But I am pretty interested since I’ve heard that the author is a very well-known science fiction writer.

Goth by Otsuichi Okay, um, two teenage sociopaths and a serial killer. I FREAKING NEED THIS!

Asleep by Banana Yoshimoto First thing that caught my attention: the author is cool enough to be named Banana. Second thing that caught my attention: the premise sounds so… intriguing.

Natsume’s Book of Friends Vol.1 by Yuki Midorikawa I’m actually very surprised that I haven’t even started reading this manga since it is so popular and it has a pretty high rating on Goodreads. But it sounds like a beautiful series~

There is a manga that I have read and reviewed this June before this post that I am going to count it so it will give me a good start. I’m aiming to read at least thirty titles! Right now, I am pretty sure that I will enjoy this challenge. I will be posting an update post at the end of beginning of every month. Look out for them if you are interested 🙂

19 thoughts on “Japanese Literature Challenge #1

  1. Yay! You signed up!!! We’re going to have so much fun with this challenge! 🙂

    Wow, those are some great books on your tbr! (You have excellent taste, my friend :D)
    Banana Yoshimoto is one my of fave Japanese authors and I really loved Asleep.
    Natsume’s Book of Friends is one of my favorite anime/manga series. You’re going to love Natsume, Nyanko sensei, Tamuna and Natori-san and well, everyone 🙂
    Kamikaze Girls…wasn’t that a movie? I didn’t know that there was a book, but I might have to check it out as well 🙂
    Goth was really…interesting. I think you’ll enjoy it! 😉
    The Girl Who Leapt Through Time – hmmm…I’ve seen the anime movie, but have yet to read the book. I’ve read Paprika though (also by Yasutaka Tsutsui) and I really enjoyed that book 🙂
    Brave Story – I haven’t heard about this before, but it sounds really interesting and I love big books, so that won’t be a problem. *adding to tbr*

    Happy reading! And I’m looking forward to reading your monthly updates and reviews 🙂

    • This is the most smiley-faced filled comment that has ever graced my blog. I love it 😛

      Banana has some really great stories that I would like to try out and I don’t think she will disappoint since you love her so much! Natsume’s Book of Friends seems like such a good manga. It will be nice to take a break from all the mystery and action I have been reading…

      Kamikaze Girls is a movie! Just searched it up 🙂 Yasutaka has come up with some very interesting concepts and I am excited to read about them! And Goth, well, it appeals to me since I love serial killers (morbid but true).

      Brave Story is an interesting book, but the length just makes me keep dropping it for other books that I could read in 1/5 the time it would take me to read Brave Story… But if you like big books then the 800+ pages will not be a problem for you.

      Thank you ❤

  2. Great choices! I’ve heard about a handful of those books before, but I am interesting in hearing your thoughts on them. 🙂

    I’m considering joining this challenge too, but I’m already doing the Tadoku Contest this month and the Summer Lovin’ Read-a-Thon next week. Adding another challenge would overwhelm my brain. I wonder if it’s alright to come late to the party?

    • Oh, it is totally fine to come in late to the party! I’m kind of late myself 😛 So whenever you finished the stuff you are doing now (good luck, btw!) you can just sign up, I believe.

  3. That’s so interesting, Lottie!. The book Goth, screams out to me. The one sentence you used to describe it makes me want it plus it’s cover is freaking awesome… I will look forward to your review on that. Please try to read it soon 🙂

  4. Oh, it seems like such a fun challenge, Lottie! It’s always great to connect with other cultures! The only book that I’ve read that is somewhat related to the Japanese culture is Kira Kira, and it is absolutely amazing! (Have you gotten the time to read it yet?)

    -Grace 🙂

    • Oh, yes, Kira Kira, I have it on my shelf but have yet to read it >_< I guess I kind of forgot about it with all the other books I have… But thank you so much for the reminder 😀

  5. What a fun challenge! I’ve read Spice and Wolf…though I wasn’t feeling it so I stopped reading, but I think you will definitely enjoy it! Oh the Girl Who Leapt Through Time! I really want to see the movie for that, but I didn’t realize there was a book!

    Hope you have fun! ^^

    • It does sound fun! Hmmm… I guess that Spice & Wolf isn’t for everyone. I just love reading it because of Holo and Lawrence. Holo acts very aristocratic and has a mouth that always makes me laugh so that is probably why I like it so much 😛

  6. Oh, sounds like the perfect challenge for you! And there are some REALLY interesting-sounding books here. I LOVE Lolita fashion. When I was in high school I would Google images of Lolita fashion for hours because I thought it was so beautiful. My boyfriend really wants to go to Japan, and while I’m not huge into the culture as some people are, I would definitely go just to see the fashion. So amazing!

  7. Pingback: June Link Loves! | nazninazeez

  8. Pingback: Attack On Titan Vol.1 by Hajime Isayama: review | book adoration

  9. Pingback: The Sunday Post(11) | book adoration

Leave a Reply

