Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare: review

Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices, #1)Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare
Series: The Infernal Devices #1
My Rating: 4.5 out of 5 Stars
Age Group: Young Adult
Genre: Paranormal, Romance, Historical Fiction, Steampunk
Publisher: Simon & Schuster, Margaret K. McElderry
Release Date: August 31st 2010
Synopsis: Orphan Tessa Gray, sixteen, crosses the ocean from New York to find her brother Nate in Victorian London, her only possession a clockwork angel necklace from her mother. She is ignorant of her power to transform; the Dark sisters are not. They kidnap her for the Magister, who wants to marry Tessa and claim her power.

Shadowhunters, warriors of angel blood, battle demons and keep the peace in the Downworld of vampires, warlocks and other supernaturals. Orphan teen Shadowhunters Jem, Will, and Jess rescue Tessa and agree to help save Nate. Vengeful vampire Lady Camille Belcourt and her current lover, warlock Magnus Bane provide entrée to the Magister’s secret Pandemonium Club.

My Thoughts:

Reading a nearly perfect or absolutely perfect book is always something that makes me catch my breath. And Clockwork Angel is no exception with its near perfection. Really, Cassandra Clare has written an absolutely beautiful book that only comes with a little flaw. I might as well just give this book a place in the imaginary world I call Bookish Heaven 😛

Just walking through Bookish Heaven. Yup.

Clockwork Angel‘s story is intriguing. How could it not be when it has the mysterious Magister, automatons, supernatural, and action? And then add a curious mystery with an unexpected twist and you got a must read! The pacing is slow but it was well-suited to this kind of story and characters–they needed time to completely sink in.

The worldbuilding in Clockwork Angel is extremely air-tight. Cassandra Clare beautifully paints a world where the location of Victorian London and regular mundanes and Shadowhunters and Downworlders merge. She payed extra attention to the connections and conflicts that hold her world together and thoroughly explains them when needed. And let us not forget the little doses of steampunk that are sprinkled throughout the book!

The prose is highly engaging, giving the reader detailed descriptions that lets one get the feel of the scene, but never crossing into the annoying, flowery purple prose region. I especially loved the passages that were dedicated to describing the automatons. I have a liking for gears, sparks, and machinery 😉

Tessa isn’t the best heroine to have in a story like this, a story where I tend to lean toward quirky, unique, and vibrant characters. She is a kind and sympathethic character that tries to be strong even though her power is greatly overshadowed by the Shadowhunters, but she doesn’t really shine among the rest of the characters. There were also times when I thought of her as a bit of a shallow character.

The two male leads of the book, Jem and Will, were great. I couldn’t help but be completely endeared by them. I was, and still am, fascinated by their pasts and how they became the people they are now: the calm, collected, kind Jem that is my favorite character and the hurtful, mysterious, conflicted Will who has such of an odd sense of humor.. Also, the friendship between them both is really heartwarming and only makes me more interested in reading the next installments.

A lovely quality that Clockwork Angel contains is the love of literature Tessa, Will, and Jem have. There are quotes scattered throughout the passages and dialogue. The obvious love for novels and poetry that the characters and the author herself has is a pleasant presence to have.

I am so, so happy that I decided to jump into this bandwagon. Clockwork Angel is an unforgettable start of a series that I believe will become a favorite of mine! I give thanks to my blogger friends who have convinced me to read this book ❤

24 thoughts on “Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare: review

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed this one! Looking at your comment above I’m a Jem and Tessa fan as well, though I love all three – I can’t wait for you to read the rest of the series as their histories and their friendship are further developed!

  2. Yay, I’m glad you liked this! I hope you enjoy the rest of the series as well. Just a warning though, it only gets more and more heartbreaking. :’)

  3. Whenever someone I know reads a “popular book” I feel my insides die and I want to yell “NOO, don’t go to the dark side! I know it’s got fresh cookies, but don’t do it!” But I’m making an exception because this book sounds sorta bad-ass. Sorta. XD

    Nahh, just kidding, I should definitely start hopping on this band-wagon considering you loved it so dearly. I hope the rest of the series work out for you! ^^

    • Well, the beginning of this series was much loved by me, so I am pretty sure that the next books will be good 😀 It’s never happy when a great series is over…

    • Tessa just wasn’t very impressive in this book >.< I actually haven't read The Mortal Instruments series, since many people have said that The Infernal Devices is the better version.

  4. I skimmed through Clockwork Angel at the library, but in the end I didn’t borrow it. Steampunk is just not my thing… But I’m glad you enjoyed it this much, Bookish Heaven is the best place to be while reading. 🙂

    ❤ "Sadako"

  5. Wow!. Seems like an amazing book. Have heard a lot about this series and the author. Good things ofcourse!. I gotta jump on the bandwagon too, I guess!

  6. Pingback: The Sunday Post(11) | book adoration

Leave a Reply

