The Woes Of Writing Reviews*

*I’m not even sure that I am using the word woe right…

Okay, before I even begin talking about the woes of writing reviews, I need to say that I sadly don’t own that typewriter. Although I would kill to be able to write on that thing!

I have a massive love for reviewing books. Sharing my opinions, thoughts, rants, fangirling. It’s one of my favorite hobbies. But there are those moments when I start noticing the troubles that I got through as a person who owns a blog dedicated to books and shares her thoughts on them. There are three woes to be exact:

1. Writer’s block.

2. Comparing my reviews to other people’s.

3. Knowing that I am not going to be able to read and review every book that I am interested in.

Number one is pretty self explanatory. I finish a book, filled with thoughts and feelings, sit myself down at my computer, and… can’t think of anything. I will admit that awhile this happens often, it doesn’t last that long. But there are those moments when I just can’t think of any words to describe my feelings about a book. One of my most recent cases of this was with How to Lead a Life of Crime. I was practically bursting with love for that book, but, woe as me, I couldn’t get my fingers to type words out on the keyboard!

Of course, I do have ways to remedy writer’s block. I listen to music– some songs, like  just inspire me– and, um, watch AMVs. (Don’t look at me weird! There are some very good ones that are totally in english!) Plus, I always look for quotes if I am in an especially severe case of writer’s block.

Number two is a bit tricky… I’m all about embracing one’s own good qualities and leaving the bad ones in the dust. Though, there are those times when I get really, really envious. And being envious of the way someone writes their reviews is one of the things that happen to me. I wonder why I can’t write gorgeously written reviews. I wonder why my reviews are all rambly when other people’s are quick and to the point.

And again, I remedy this jealousy by turning my brain off and listening to music or reading another book. Then I write up my review with no bad feelings or any darkness in my heart (yeah, totally not exaggerating here 😛 ) But seriously, it’s really hard to get rid of the jealousy. Jealousy is just an emotion that all us humans get.

Number three is one of those problems that I think every book reviewer has. There are tons of books out there and I am just one person. There is no way I am going to be able to read all the books I want to read. My TBR list grows larger everyday and is probably never going to grow smaller. So yeah, there is no way to remedy this problem. WHICH IS SO SAAAAD!

Just leave me in my bookish misery…

But really, even though there are some troubles that come with being a book reviewer, there aren’t many, and the good things that come with being a book reviewer are so much more in quantity than the bad. I have made so many new friends, found out about so many new books, found an outlet for my thoughts, and really feel like I am contributing a little bit in the book blogging community. I have absolutely no regrets!

Be sure to tell me your thoughts in the comments section 😀

14 thoughts on “The Woes Of Writing Reviews*

  1. I’d love to own a typewriter too! 🙂 You make great points, I feel the same way! #1 & #2: Some reviews can be really hard for me to write and I’ll sit there for a long time just trying to get the words right; I’ll see other reviews of the same book and think “Oh, that flows and really shows their thoughts better!” Oh, and #3…My wish list is so long! Plus, there are some books that I enjoyed but never got to write a review on! Great post! 🙂

    Alice @ Alice in Readerland

  2. You really don’t have to worry about point 2 because your reviews are indeed gorgeous and fun to read!. Point 1 & 3 are indeed my huge problems too.. Excellent post, Lottie 🙂

  3. #1 has been my problem lately. It’s so frustrating when you really like a book but no words seem to translate how you feel. You can’t think of anything to write, and you end up with a very sloppy chunk of words for a review. Not only that, I have a problem with beginning a review. 🙂

    Yeah, I always experience #2, but I try not to do it because I might end up copying other’s reviews. Hahahaha.. 😀

    Writing isn’t my forte Lottie, but I think you write great reviews. Based on some of your reviews that I’ve read, you are able to explain how you really feel about the book. 🙂

    I won’t even go to #3 anymore.

    And the typewriter… I’m proud to say that we own one, and I have experienced to use it before. 🙂

  4. As someone who had a typewriter in the past, they are a pain! You get sore fingers from banging on the keys and no delete button. Not being able to edit is a heartbreaker. *Hugs my tablet lovingly *
    Comparing my reviews to others is the killjoy for me so I try not to. And yes that to-read list is impossible but I’ll make a good stab at it 🙂

  5. I was so disappointed when my uncle threw out my grandpa’s typewriter :(. It was one of the few possessions that were left after he passed away. That and his office chair. I would have loved to have those two with me. Anyways moving back to reviews, I think it’s kind of inevitable that you compare yourself to how others review. Sometimes I wish I could write shorter reviews like some of the other bloggers, but I just can’t seem to do it and when I think about it I don’t mind. How I write reviews is what makes them personal. And people read the reviews for a reason, so I don’t mind. Ahaha I’ve kind of stopped making a tbr pile on goodreads because I’ve pretty much figured out that I don’t necessarily follow that. I’ve also kind of stopped adding books that are newly released because knowing myself I probably won’t read them and I’d like to read books that were published earlier than just the new ones. That’s just me though 😛

  6. I think everyone can pretty much relate to this! 1) I think writing reviews can be really nervewracking, just because there is SO MUCH that you can talk about and sometimes it’s hard to get it all out in some kind of logical order. Pulling quotes from the book is what I find most helpful for me in sorting out everything. 2) I try not to think about my reviews too much, because yeah, I never think mine are beautifully written or extremely logical. I try to make them quick and to the point, but like my commenting and posting in general, they are always long and drawn out. (It’s a curse, I can’t help it!) I just remind myself I only post a review once a week and that my links to other reviews can help someone decide if they want to read it if my review doesn’t, so meh! 3) Duh, there’s always too many books. As of right now, I’m just trying to settle on reading the books I own and not thinking about any others. I almost want to NOT read any reviews just so I won’t have to think of new books I want to read. We’ll see how that goes though… Great post!

  7. I couldn’t agree more. While reading a book, I have all of those ideas and parts that I’d like to include in my review, but they evaporate once I open my laptop. I guess taking notes while reading would help with that, but I’ve never done it before. Number 2 in the one I relate to the most, although I realized that my reviews will always sound distorted and all over the place for me, because.. well I wrote them. I stopped worrying about that and just wrote what came to my mind.

  8. I know what you mean about writer’s block. For me, it actually happens the most often for books that I really love. Like, why? If I love a book, I feel like I should be bursting over with words to describe why I love it so much. But it seems like that’s usually not the case. I’m just swooning over a book and left speechless at its awesomeness.

    I’ve had to stop comparing my reviews to others, because I’ll probably never feel good enough. Some reviewers are so eloquent that even their reviews are like gorgeous pieces of writing on their own! Alas, that is not me, lol.

  9. I really enjoyed reading this post, and your choice of images are absolutely fantastic! I collect typewriters, so I always love seeing them in pictures- they’re one of my weaknesses!
    I’ve faced I suppose all of these problems- when I came into reviewing I didn’t think for a moment that it would have this sort of thing be an issue, and it’s been a really interesting learning experience, and one that, like you say at the end of your post, is so worth it because of all the awesome-ness that has come from meeting new people- bloggers, readers, authors, ect.- and finding new books.

  10. Awww, that typewriter looks so cute&girly! I’d love to have one like that, not to use it (I love my laptop and couldn’t live without backspace), just like an… art piece. Yes. 🙂

    I have the hardest time writing reviews for books I LOVED as well. I often feel that
    I can’t do justice to them. For some reason I find it easier to write negative reviews…. BUT I do not want to write about books I didn’t like. I want to write about the books I loved and enjoy doing it! Damn. Sigh. I think your reviews are really terrific though – you have nothing to worry about. 🙂

    You know the saying: so many books, so little time. And it is oh-so-SAD…

    btw, I LOVE AMVs!!! I often listen to music while I write as well. It really helps!

  11. Lottie, this is such a great post idea! Any blogger can relate to this 🙂 And I absolutely adore both of the photos you used. I hope you don’t mind if I use them for some things or another 🙂

  12. Pingback: Book Bloggery Week-in-Review (11) | Another Novel Read

  13. Pingback: The Sunday Post(10) | book adoration

  14. I empathize with you on a myriad of these. It’s more difficult for me to review certain books, especially the 3 or 4 star ones – the ones I loved or didn’t like so much I feel more strongly about and thus it’s easier to write about them, but others… not so much. As for jealousy, I think that every reviewer has his or her own style which is what makes book blogging so much fun! Finally, for the last one, I guess it’s better to have too many books to review than too little, right? (:

Leave a Reply

