Storm by Brigid Kemmerer: review

Storm (Elemental, #1)Storm by Brigid Kemmerer
Series: Elemental #1
My Rating:
4 out of 5 Stars
Age Group: Young Adult
Genre: Paranormal, Romance
Publisher: Kensington
Release Date: April 24th 2012
Synopsis: Becca Chandler is suddenly getting all the guys; all the ones she doesn’t want. Ever since her ex-boyfriend spread those lies about her. Then she saves Chris Merrick from a beating in the school parking lot. Chris is different. Way different: he can control water just like his brothers can control fire, wind, and earth. They’re powerful. Dangerous. Marked for death.

And now that she knows the truth, so is Becca.

Secrets are hard to keep when your life’s at stake. When Hunter, the mysterious new kid around school, turns up with a talent for being in the wrong place at the right time, Becca thinks she can trust him. But then Hunter goes head-to-head with Chris, and Becca wonders who’s hiding the most dangerous truth of all.

The storm is coming.

My Thoughts:

Storm is a book people will open up because of other promise of five hot, swoon-worthy guys, awesome Elemental powers, and ultimately, lots of fun. And I doubt that many people will be disappointed. This book is nearly as fun as running around in the rain awhile thunder roars. Does anyone else do that? No? Okay then.

I believe that Kemmerer did a great job in the characterization department for this novel. I felt distant from Becca at first because her character was so… quiet, but as the pages turned, I started to understand her and feel a strong emotional connection with her. Chris is also very quiet compared to the rest of his brothers. Saying that he is the brooding type wouldn’t be a lie.

Then we have the rest of the Merrick family. We have Michael, a person who is kind of a jerk, but I think it’s because he has to. Protecting and taking care of all those boys isn’t an easy feat. And then there is Nick and Gabriel. We don’t get much of Nick in this book, but there is plenty of Gabriel. I can’t say I liked him very much since he came off as a sexist person. But I do think that he can develop into a better person in Spark, the next book in the Elemental series. Oh, and I can’t forget Hunter! He isn’t a Merrick boy, but his character is still very, very attractive 😛 He is a very sweet, caring guy, and he is pretty mysterious. My wanting to learn more about him is one of the reasons I was so glued to this book.

My favorite aspect of Storm is the family dynamics between all the Merrick brothers. Sure, they get on each others nerves and get in fights, but they always stay loyal. I found that to be very touching. The interactions between the brothers is fluid, seemingly effortless with all the witty comments and intense fights. I am always thinking that there should be more focus on  realistic sibling relationships in YA, so Storm was a lovely surprise.

The romance does take up a fairly large piece of the story. But it was a good romance. The featured love triangle between Becca, Chris, and Hunter is pretty well done. It doesn’t get in the way of the forwarding of the plot, but it does have the time to realistically develop. And I got to admit that the kiss on the last page of the book made me swoon ❤

Brigid Kemmerer’s writing is not the best I have read, but it is decent and gets the job done. There are some times when the writing has some dashes of snark and humor, which I really loved.

Awhile the little aspects the story has are definitely awesome, the story itself is pretty cool also. A book about a hot group of boys with the power to control the Elements and a girl trying to escape death? Sign me up! And the crisp, clean execution and the good pacing only make the story more addictive. That doesn’t mean that there weren’t any flaws, though…

I think that the ending is a little anti-climatic and rushed. It wasn’t a bad ending, I just think that, compared to the rest of the novel in which Kemmerer seems to take her time, the ending is just a little too fast. That’s really the only issue I had with Storm. The rest of the novel is great fun!

Storm is a very promising start to a series that I’m certainly going to continue reading. I can already feel the fire Spark promises and the power Spirit promises. I would recommend this first book to lovers of paranormal fiction, specifically ones that are fans of reading about the main elements being sources of power. And of course, fans of hot guys.

3 thoughts on “Storm by Brigid Kemmerer: review

Leave a Reply

