Watching Fiction(2)

Watching Fiction

St. Trinian's (2007) PosterSt. Trinian’s

Directed By: Oliver Parker, Barnaby Thompson

Produced By: Brian Thompson

Release: 10 December 2007 (UK)

Synopsis: St Trinian’s, a school for “young ladies” with its anarchic doctrine of free expression, brings together a motley crew of ungovernable girls who, using their wit and ingenuity, save the school from bankruptcy.

My Thoughts:

Savindi from The Streetlight Reader recommended me this movie awhile we were reading Heist Society, since the heist was better and more fun and the characters were all pretty darn loveable. And so I watched it to see if what she said was true.

And I couldn’t find a single thing I didn’t like about this movie.

In the movie St. Trinian’s, there is not one character someone could call a good role model, a lot of the characters are stereotypes, and the story really couldn’t be called an epic one. But the movie is still great fun to watch, the characters are still characters I love, and the girl power is pretty awesome.

St. Trinian’s welcomes the audience to the worst institution in the country (and the world), St. Trinian’s School for Young Girls, a school that happens to be going bankrupt. And the young girls attending this terrible school, these young very different young girls, must save their beloved school from bankruptcy… by committing crime via heist. What follows is hilarity and fun and all around St. Trinian chaos.

I think what I love most about St. Trinian’s is how unapologetic the girls (and teachers) are about their personalities. They don’t care that you hate what they enjoy doing, nor do they care that you are not a fan of the things they say. They just do what they want to do. Even Annabel learns to release her inner St. Trinian. Whether that is a good or bad thing, I don’t know 😛 I also really loved how the girls seemed to stick together like a “slightly dysfunctional” family.

You just gotta love the girls 😉

Oh, and the heist! I can’t forget to mention the heist! It was just so fun to watch (and I have to admit, the girls are super clever!)! There are explosions, sewer walking, guard-fooling, going across tightropes, dancing through security lasers, and a gameshow. Yup. It was a bloody amazing heist 😛

The script, coupled actors who do amazing at portraying their characters, is to die for with its witty dialogue and comedy. There were actually moments when I laughed out loud enough to earn a couple of stares from my family.

“You’re only supposed to blow the bloody doors off!” <— One of my favorite lines.

And the soundtrack is pretty good also! The songs really do set the mood and make a person excited!

Another fun thing about this series is that I believe I caught some references to some literary works? I mean, there was a blatant allusion to the infamous Mr. Darcy wet shirt scene!

So yeah, St. Trinian’s was a pretty darn good movie! I am definitely going to be watching the sequel. Thank you, Savindi, for recommending me this movie! It was very worth the watch 🙂

4 thoughts on “Watching Fiction(2)

  1. Pingback: The Sunday Post(7) | book adoration

    • Hehe, I’m officially on the St. Trinian’s bandwagon 😛 I can’t wait to watch the second movie! Those St. Trinian’s girls are verryyy unpredictable.

Leave a Reply

