Readers Live A Thousand Lives…

“Readers Live A Thousand Lives.”

-George R.R. Martin

I have seen this quote appearing in front of me a lot lately. This quote has got me pondering over why I read. There are a lot of reasons, really, but one of them is quite simple: I get to live another life that I will probably not live in the real world.

I probably won’t be able to join a circus and become an aerialistΒ in my lifetime. I probably won’t be able to send letters to a parallel universeΒ during my life here in this world. I probably won’t be able to go on an adventure of epic proportions with a ghost and a boy absolutely smitten with me anytime soon. And I probably won’t find myself being chased by a crazy guy in the desert.

But if I read a book I will be able to, in a way, do all those things in a fictional world inside my mind. I could go on all those great adventures, awhile sitting in my special reading place, and then go home in time for dinner. That is one of the reasons why reading is such a fantastic thing and why storytellers are fantastic people.

By now, I have probably lived over a hundred lives and learned over a thousand things awhile living them. By reading these books, experiencing all those lives, I think I am becoming a better person, a person who will be able to understand other people (even if it is only a little bit), a person who knows that adventures lie in words and the real world.

If someone tells me I should be doing something better than reading, I will ignore what they said and thrust a book in their hands, knowing that they will experience a life if they read it.

I will end this kind-of-messy post by thanking all those amazing authors who have made those hundreds of lives I lived possible. Thank you, for making living a thousand lives possible. Thank you so much!

15 thoughts on “Readers Live A Thousand Lives…

  1. What a thoughtful post!. I agree 100% with you. Books are a means of escaping into another world. Books are like port keys :). Touch them and poof you go… I love reading like crazy. I thank all those awesome authors too!

  2. A lovely and insightful post. I feel the same way as you do and adore the quote you use. It’s perfect to describe how we do feel about reading and why we read. Everything you said is perfection ❀

    • Thank you! Just the thought that this post was perfect squeezes my heart πŸ˜€ Most readers seem to read for the new worlds, I think…

      George R.R. Martin does seem to have a way with words! Which is why I seriously want to read his books >.<

  3. Pingback: Readers Live A Thousand Lives… | mlmtips4growth

  4. Beautiful post. And I agree. There is so many amazing things a person can do with their life, but oftentimes certain things get in the way. While I love my life and am working on making it the best possible for me, I’m always curious what it would be like if I chose a different path or walked in someone else’s shoes. Not only does it give you a chance to experience lives that you might not otherwise experience, it also helps you relate to and understand those who do live those lives. Reading is perfection.

    • Thank you! πŸ™‚ The way you just worded reading is amazing. I love my life, too, but sometimes I just want to see what other kinds of lives I could of lived. Or just the lives that are impossible to live (like a life in a fantasy world).

  5. hairs on my arms stood while reading this post. You captured what I wanted to say to my friends who can’t understand why I love reading. We experience a lot in this world and the outside just be reading.

    I am yet to read and George Martin books, but that quote is really excellent.

    • Really? Well, I guess I did what I wanted to do πŸ™‚ Thank you for such a nice comment πŸ™‚ Knowing that I captured what you have wanted to see makes me happy.

      I haven’t read any of George Martin’s books either. I have heard that they are excellent though.

  6. Pingback: The Sunday Post(5) | book adoration

Leave a Reply

