Rereading Books: Do You Do It?

 

I believe that all bookish people have favorite books, but I do wonder if many bookish people reread books. Sometimes our TBR piles are just to big to ignore and we don’t get the chance to reopen a book we oh so dearly loved and experience it again. And some people just don’t like rereading books. So I will like to ask you something: Do you reread books? And if you do, how often?

The Three Loves of Persimmon

just going to give this book some advertising…

I do love rereading books. It gives me immense joy to open up a book and meet the characters I love again and read a story I adored again. But I don’t get to reread often. Why? Because there are so many other books to read. My TBR pile is huge and it gets bigger every week. I don’t have unlimited time to read all the books I want to read so I normally choose to skip over rereading a book and read a new one instead. There are some books though that just scream at me to be reread. *cough*Β The Three Loves of Persimmon*cough*

When I reread those books I feel sad because I know I won’t be able to do this with every book I love. And then I have to tell myself that it is okay. Because as long as I keep the story in my mind I will still be able to experience it in my daydreams and not so day-ish dreams. Will it be the same as rereading it word for word? Of course not. But it is still experiencing the story.

I am sorry that this post is a little all over the place but I am very curious if you, the people who read this, reread books. So please tell me in the comments! πŸ™‚

27 thoughts on “Rereading Books: Do You Do It?

  1. I definitely love re-reading books. Some books i love to reread, others I feel are a one-time type of book. When I was younger, I used to re-read my favorite books over and over and over again and never really read new ones. But now that I have more books to read, I find that I re-read way less, since my TBR pile is very big. πŸ˜›

    This was such an awesome idea for a post!

    • Thank you ^_^
      I used to reread books a lot when I was younger to. Maybe that was because I didn’t know how MANY books there were out there. I just picked a book out of the few I had and reread it πŸ™‚

  2. I used to reread books. I’m pretty sure I’ve read The Mortal Instruments series at least three times and I also reread a few of the Maximum Ride books but now I don’t do that much rereading. It’s just not the same the second time around and I’m afraid that if I read it for the second time I won’t like it anymore. Plus I have a huge TBR pile!

    • I hear so much about The Mortal Instruments series. It is starting to take over my brain πŸ˜›
      It is true that one might be able to pick out the flaws of a book easier on a reread. I normally love a book all the same but there are some books that I didn’t like the second time.
      TBR pile = The stairs to Heaven

  3. I actually don’t get to reread books because like you I have time constraints and a huge TBR pile that prevents me from doing so. I feel like I should reread more though, because I heard that rereading books can help you better grasp the plot, characters, and things you didn’t pick up on your first read. Hopefully we’ll find more time to reread some of our favorites in the future!

    • I have had that happen to me awhile rereading a book. I find something that I skipped over when I first read it πŸ™‚ I guess that is why rereading is so precious! Well, Summer is coming soon so I will have much free time then πŸ˜€

  4. Yeah, I reread books! But only the ones that I love dearly, just like you! I’ve read Harry Potter I think eight times now (started the series in grade three, and haven’t looked back since πŸ™‚ and The Hunger Games trilogy twice or three times. And classics are kind of fun to re-read πŸ™‚

    Great post Lottie, really thoughtful!

    -Grace πŸ™‚

    • Rereading books that one loves dearly is something one should do often– I have been forgetting to do so ^_^”
      Harry Potter sounds like a very rereadable series (I have read the first book but plan to read the rest this year) and The Hunger Games IS definitely rereadable. I don’t normally reread classics but I guess there are some out there that are fun to reread/
      And thank you! I do try πŸ˜›

  5. Awesome post Lottie :D. I reread books but only ones that I really love and I feel that need a rereads. Some were classics like Anne of Green Gables, Rebecca from Sunny brook Farm, Little Women, and Jane Eyre. And the first Hunger Games book. Also Esperanza Rising, Willa By Heart, The Romeo and Juliet Code, If I stay and The Secret Diaries of Miss Miranda Cheever.
    Like I said Awesome post πŸ™‚

  6. I definitely re-read books. When I’m going through a reading slump I often go back to the books I’ve loved most. However when I re-read I don’t read the entire book, I just read some of my favourite passages and it reminds me why I love this book so much. Sometimes when you re-read books it gives you a different perspective. Personally the ones that I re-read,I consider them to be my all time favourite books. Even though I have a massive tbr pile I don’t think about it when I’m re-reading something I love. Those books can wait and if I get pleasure out of rereading then it’s fine. There have been books that I’ve loved, but I won’t go back to re-read them. It’s not that I didn’t have an amazing experience reading them, I did, but it wasn’t an emotional connection as the ones I’ve established with my other books. I have no idea if that makes sense or not lol, but I thought I’d throw my opinion in there as well! Great post Lottie!

    • It totally makes sense. And you explained your perspective very well πŸ™‚ I also return to my old book friends when I am in a reading slump (haven’t been in one for a while though).
      I usually only reread passages but sometimes if I really, really loved a book I will reread it its whole entirety. I rarely do it though. I require a lot of emotional connection with the book to do that lol.

      • I’ve sort of been in a reading slump so I’ve gone back to some of my old favourites. Emotional connections are definitely important when you re-read. But I re-read for the fun of it as well. There are those books you know that will tug at your heart and the ones that will crack you up, so re-reading is definitely a good experience :).

      • There are books that are rereadable because they are just pure fun. Though I normally have emotional connections with those because funny books and me have been with me through a lot. They were with me when I was being stared at awkwardly in public since I was laughing loudly, being stared at by family members since I was laughing loudly, and getting a pencil thrown at me since I was laughing loudly… Yep. Me and funny books have been through a lot together πŸ˜›

        Books that crack me up… Hmmm… That reminds me that I have wanted to reread Bossypants again πŸ˜›

  7. Re-reading books is a HUGE reason why I prefer to buy ALL my books πŸ˜€

    While I may not re-read the whole book, I might skim it and then re-read my favourite part/chapter and look at quotes I really loved.

    I have however, re-read Harry Potter like 15 times; VA 4-5 times (espeially #1 and #3); re-read Deity chapter 22 and Unravel Me chapter 62 countless times; my favourite bits of the The Iron Queen and Shadow & Bone often and omg the amount of times I’ve read On the Jellicoe Road πŸ˜›

    • I have On the Jellicoe Road! I need to get to it ASAP! Harry Potter has been mentioned a couple of times in the comments so I am guessing it is a really good series πŸ™‚ Skimming a book and rereading quotes/passages is what I do, too.

  8. Nice post, Lottie!. Well, I don’t like rereading books. Mainly because I might as well dedicate that time to reading a new book!. But I do one thing though, which many might not be doing. After I read a book that really touched me or made me thoughtful, I dedicate upto 5 days to it, where I would stare at a blank wall and reminisce everything that went on in that book. I also think how it could have been different if the situations were different and such :). That way, I totally live in the book and dedicate it a good share of my time. I once did reread a book but the case was different. Even the title didn’t ring a bell to me!. I had read it a LONG time ago. But once I reached the middle (yep, the middle), finally the deja vu feeling hit me. It was a thriller and I still couldn’t figure out who the murderer was. So I went on and finished it. Hehe. Felt like a new book. But that was, that just one time. I do reread books like Archies comics and all. But that really doesn’t count!

    PS. I am currently ‘dedicating my time to reminiscing’ the plot of Along Came a Spider by James Patterson. Finished it day before yday. Good book. Have you read it?. Long comment. I think I should stop πŸ˜›

    • It’s like you become one with the book :O I don’t think I could dedicate five days to a book since I am always so anxious to get to another one πŸ˜›
      I haven’t read Along Came a Spider but I will definitely look out for it!

      • Hehe Lottie… I know how eager you are to read books. I still cant get over the fact that you read 8 books at a time!!.. OMG. For someone like me, that’s impossible.

  9. I do reread books! But some books I love and adore so much, I know that when i reread it, it will just ruin that feeling to me. Some are just everlasting and you could reread all the time and it just always amazes you every time. I like rereading because it also lets have you have a different (or same!) feel every time you reread it.

    Sometimes, I would just dedicate a month of rereading. XD Cause I’m weird like dat.

  10. Reading is a luxury I refuse to give up. When I decided I needed to build a brand with blogging, I decided to brand on Mondays and do book reviews on Thursdays. With that schedule, it guaranteed me a minimum of one new read each week. My additional caveat was that I wouldn’t publish a negative review. I leave that to professional reviewers. I prefer to find the novels that truly inspire me as a writer and excel in all methods of storytelling. With this review practice, I often read five books or so before I find one that I consider worthy of a review.
    As a child I often would read a book more than once. It wasn’t because I wanted to but out of necessity. I loved to read but we lived many miles from a library and that was before I had my own money and could go to a bookstore. In order to have something to read all the time, I often read my father’s cattleman journals and that type of thing. I couldn’t stand it when I didn’t have something interesting to read and learn from.

    • I can see how not having books readily available can cause one to reread books a lot. I have always lived near a library so that was never a problem for me but I can imagine it.

  11. I have a few books that I re-read over and over again. Mostly books from my childhood or classics. In some books I always find something new with each year passing.

    Sometimes it’s like meeting an old friend or relative. Nothing has really changed but its still a delight to spend an hour or two together – recollecting adventures, hurt and laughter )

  12. When I was younger, I do a lot of re-reading. I usually finished reading textbooks before the first month of school ends, so I have to re-read it for homeworks and stuff. As for novels, I also do some re-reading once in a while, especially if there are no new books around. And oh, if the movie adaptation is coming up.

  13. Even when I have a huge TBR pile I still re-read books that I loved. I’ve re-read the Mediator series by Meg Cabot, The Vampire Academy, The Great Gatsby, and The Lux by Anna Godbersen. I try to re-read as much as possible because with every re-read you find something different that you did not notice at first.

Leave a Reply

