Surrender by Rhiannon Paille + Lantern & Poison by Rhiannon Paille: reviews

Surrender (The Ferryman and the Flame, #1)Surrender by Rhiannon Paille

Series: The Ferryman and the Flame #1

My Rating: 4 out of 5 Stars

Age Group: Young Adult

Genre: Fantasy, Romance

Publisher: CreateSpace

Release Date: October 2nd 2012

Synopsis: How far would you go to save everything you ever loved?

Kaliel was warned about her love for the Ferryman. One day he will marry the land and leave Avristar forever. She doesn’t listen, and because of what she is– a Flame– one of nine apocalyptic weapons, she sparks a war. In a desperate attempt to save her home and her love, Kaliel tries to awaken Avred, not knowing she may have to make the ultimate sacrifice.

My Thoughts: 

There is a lot to love about Surrender. It is amazingly imaginative and I was sucked into the story easily. Whenever I put the book down, I yearned to pick it back up again. Paille has completely won me over. I don’t read much fantasy so you can take my opinion with a grain of salt but I really loved this book. I will now warn you that the next paragraph is kind of spoilery. But the rest of the review is safe. I promise!

Krishani is a Ferryman that dreams of death. Kaliel is one of the nine Flames, the Amethyst Flame. These two people are destined to marry the land but instead they both fall deeply in love with each other. Their love causes a war and Kaliel must save all the things that are important to her before it is to late. Dun dun dun!

Paille’s writing is vivid and detailed, never leaving the reader dissatisfied. Some scenes are written so well that I feel as though I can reach out and let me fingers dip into the water, run my hand through the blades of grass, or watch the colors of the land change by Pux’s command. I couldn’t get enough of her words.

The fantasy world that Paille created was fantastic. She made the world with a creative imagination. The talent to whisper to trees, the power to control the land, the dangers of the water, and the all-knowing Great Oak. I could tell that Paille put a lot of effort in the creation of her fantasy world. I do wish that there was more information provided to the reader so I could know more about the past of the world. Other than that the world was great.

Kaliel and Krishani have a certain innocence to them. They look at the world in a naive way, I think. I thought that this was what made these two such charming characters. I was emotionally invested in them immediately. Kaliel and Krishani are also strong characters that go through a lot of hardship. Sometimes I just wanted to give them both a hug and comfort them. Which I would be horrible at but still… I think that the side characters were also done fairly well. I enjoyed their presence in the story.

I don’t think that the romance is very believable in this novel. The love between Kaliel and Krishani felt like it was to…instant. I do realize that their first encounters impacted each other greatly but I still didn’t find their almost instant feelings for each other realistic. They are still a sweet couple nonetheless.

If you don’t have much patience I wouldn’t recommend this book to you. The first half is mostly setting up the story and introducing the characters. The second half is when things get real interesting. It had me reading with absolute excitement! There are also some moments that had me tearing but because they were so tragic. And some parts are truly touching.

Overall Surrender is a great fantasy novel that will keep the reader turning the pages with anticipation until the end. And when the reader gets to the end, the reader will probably want to buy the next book as soon as possible. I know I did.

*A review copy of this book was provided for a honest review.

Lantern & Poison (The Ferryman + The Flame #1.5)Lantern & Poison by Rhiannon Paille

Series: The Ferryman and the Flame #1.5

My Rating: 3.5 out of 5 Stars

Age Group: Young Adult

Genre: Fantasy

Publisher: Self-Published

Release Date: December 11th 2012

Synopsis: This is SURRENDER from the villain’s POV.

Hadwen is no more. The Daed have no choice but to travel to Avrigost to awaken Crestaos. They’re thrown into a whirlwind quest for the Flames, not knowing how ruthless and sadistic Crestaos can be.

Meet Isadora The Iolite Flame, Lotesse The Emerald Flame, Cossisea The Ruby Flame, Shezeel The Quartz Flame and Tiki The Carnelian Flame in this novella that dives deeper into Kaliel and Krishani’s nightmare.

My Thoughts: 
When I read Surrender I wondered what the enemies were thinking. Lantern & Poison gave me that information. It was very, very interested to see the enemies point of view.
In my copy of this novella, the author warns the reader that there is no love story but there is a lot of death and blood. And she spoke the truth! There was so much pain in this novella that I needed to take a break from it every couple chapters.

The reader also gets a glimpse of the Flames’ deaths. And, well, the deaths made me really sad. I don’t think I could last a minute of what these characters had to go through. Their perseverance and resistance is amazing.

Paille’s great prose holds up in this mid-series novella and I appreciate that. Her writing is really easy to read and makes Lantern & Poison a breeze to read through.

Lantern & Poison is a novella that is worth the read if you are seeking information that you couldn’t get from Surrender or want to know more about the enemies.

*A review copy of this novella was provided for a honest review.

This post is a part of the The Ferryman + the Flame Series Blog Tour.

9 thoughts on “Surrender by Rhiannon Paille + Lantern & Poison by Rhiannon Paille: reviews

    • Oh my gosh, thank you! You have no idea how happy this comment makes me 🙂 You should see my earlier reviews. They were really bad 😛 And I love your reviews too! Especially when you get all fangirly!

      • thank you! My early reviews were awful as well, so don’t feel bad. If you look at reviews I posted in july and august, all of them are….terrible. Comes with the material of being a novice blogger I guess 🙂

  1. Hi Lottie! Aww, I’m soo happy you loved Surrender and Lantern & Poison as much as you did. I know I took it slow in the beginning but that’s because without knowing where the characters come from you’d never know how to measure the bad stuff that happens to them later. LOL, and I DID fall into the insta love plot trap, but I felt like it worked for them at least in this book. Gosh there’s so much more that’s happened, can’t wait for you to read!

    • Well, I am happy that you had written these wonderful books! I did enjoy the first part even if it was slow but I just felt like I had to warn other people who were less patient 😉 The insta-love didn’t annoy me as much as it would have in other books because Kaliel and Krishani ARE really good together 😛
      And I am really excited to read the next books too!

  2. Pingback: Xpresso Book Tours Review & Giveaway: Surrender by Rhiannon Paille

  3. Wow!.. I loved your detailed reviews of these two books particularly Surrender’s. Your reviews have so much life in it, Lottie!.. I did read Rhiannon’s reply and I think she is pretty awesome too 🙂

  4. Pingback: March In Review | book adoration

Leave a Reply

