Books In My Younger Years


Recently I was packing up old books from my younger years to donate to the used bookstore. Okay, I am still young but when I say younger years I mean back when I was in elementary school. Awhile packing up said books I started wondering what would have happened it I hadn’t read those books. Would I still be the person I am today? Would I still love reading? I really don’t know. I just know that my exclusive love for reading started with the Junie B. Jones series.

Junie B. Jones and the  Stupid Smelly Bus (Junie B. Jones, #1)When I read my first Junie B. Jones book I fell in love. Junie B. was a spunky, down to earth girl who got in a heck of a lot of trouble and had bad grammar. My kindergarten self became best friends with her. I followed her through the worst smelly buses, Valentine’s Day, weddings, and many other things when she was in kindergarten. And then she went into first grade and I still followed her. I made my mother buy so many Junie B. Jones books that it is not even funny. I guess you could say that she was a girl who had a big influence on my life. I don’t know if I would be as in love with reading as I am now if it wasn’t for her. And then there is the Goosebumps series.

I remember that there was a huge library in the elementary school I went to. One day I was browsing through the shelves and found a shelf dedicatedThe Haunted Mask (Goosebumps, #11) to the Goosebumps series. (Goosebumps is a very long series it does need a shelf all to itself, of course.) I picked a random Goosebumps book off the shelf and started reading. And it sent chills through my body. The light horror that these books gave me appealed to me. The closest thing I have ever gotten to a horror movie at that time was when I snuck behind the couch and watchedΒ a Chucky movie with my parents. So I felt very adult to be reading a “horror” series.

Sure, there were tons of other books that I read when I was elementary student but those are the series thatΒ reallyΒ got me into reading and made me hunger for the written word. These were the books that made me read under the covers with a flashlight and learn that reading was a gift to be cherished.

Do you remember which books got you into reading? If so, tell me about them in the comments!

 

 

21 thoughts on “Books In My Younger Years

    • I also read the A to Z mystery books. I am pretty sure I read all of them πŸ˜› And then I started hoping that the author would do a 1 to 100 Mysteries series or something like that. I Goosebumps is a great series if you are looking for some quick books that are unsettling.

  1. Oh memories. I actually tried reading goosebumps but it freaked me out(still does) and so I don’t read scary books. The end. πŸ˜„ actually I remember reading magic tree house before I got bored of it being so similar. I mostly read picture books because I wasn’t such a nerd until 5th grade. What a depressing bookie I am. Go picture books!

    Lottie, you get the best ideas to post on here!^^

    • I loved being freaked out as a child. My friend and I would look up scary pop-up videos on Youtube and have a contest for the first one not to jump πŸ˜›
      I remember The Magic Tree House books! I quite liked them but they were not my favorite books.
      Picture books are amazing. I remember this one picture book that my mom really loved reading to me. I don’t know what it was called but it was about a fox who had his tail taken away by an old woman he wronged. He had to go through a lot to get it back… I loved that story.
      And thank you! The idea just hit me today. I don’t think it is that original but I liked writing the post ^^

  2. I actually never read the Goosebumps series, but I always read Junie B. Junes! If I went to my elementary school bookshelf right now, I think I’d be able to find at least 10 of them! I think the books that got me into reading the most were the Nancy Drew series (I LOVE mysteries to this day), I also used to love the Rainbow Magic fairy books by Daisy Meadows. Those were my addictions. I have at least 50 of those. Oh, and the Babysitters Club! Loved those πŸ™‚

    I like this idea for a post πŸ™‚

    • Thank you πŸ˜€
      Junie B. Jones is a series that I will shove into the face of every kindergarten student I meet. I sometimes wish that I could say that my path to the love of reading was classic series like Nancy Drew and TBC. But then I think about how awesome Junie B. Jones and Goosebumps was >:D

  3. This is such an awesome post! It’s making me feel pretty nostalgic…I used to love Junie B! I remember I got into it when my first grade teacher read it to us, I fell in love. And the A to Z Mysteries! I remember loving that series! Especially that one chic in it that always dressed in only one colour. And the Rainbow Magic Fairy books were so freaking cute. Also, the Little House Collection by Laura Ingalls W were fantastic…*sigh*

  4. Oh my gosh, of course I remember! I was hooked on The Little House on the Prairie books. I connected with Laura immediately and fell in love with her story. I know I read a million books when I was little but that is the series that hooked me and turned me into a life-long reader.

  5. What a nice post!. I loved R.L.Stine’s Goosebumps series too!. read like 5 or 6 books from it as far as I remember. Never heard of Junie B jones!.. Sounds like a cute series.

  6. Chucky rules! πŸ˜€ I still have a few Goosebumbs lying around somewhere. They were fun!

    My mother taught me how to read at a very young age. I don’t know/remember which particular book I read that got me into reading – I read everything that came under my hands. Baul Biegel, Annie M. G. Schmidt, Max Vethuijs, Roald Dahl, Otfried Preusler, Michael Ende, Anke de Vries, Jacque Vriens, Joke van Leeuwen etc. etc..

    I think I still have my first books. Will have a peek πŸ™‚

    • Chucky will forever haunt my dreams… I think the only horror I can take is the mild horror of Goosebumps πŸ˜›
      It seems you have read a lot! Roald Dahl is an amazing author πŸ™‚

  7. I read both of those series when I was younger! Is it strange that Goosebumps really did scare me? The books actually frightened me – perhaps it’s not surprising because I can’t stand watching horror movies either. Anyway, I recall reading mystery books when I was in elementary school, along with a few random contemporary stories thrown in. Flash to the past, this post triggered!

    • No, it is not strange at all. Goosebumps scared me a lot despite the horror element being pretty mild. The endings that the books had almost always killed me inside πŸ˜› I normally stuck to popular kids series when I was in elementary school.

  8. My brother was the one who read the Goosebumps books. I did watch the shows and that terrifying episode of The Mask. I have read a bunch of R.L. Stine books since then. The Zack Files were it to me as well as the Warrior series and Redwall books. Such fond memories (:

Leave a Reply

