My Imaginary Ex by Mina V. Esguerra: review

My Imaginary ExMy Imaginary Ex by Mina V. Esguerra

Stand Alone

My Rating: 3.5 out of 5 Stars

Age Group: New Adult/Young Adult

Genre: Romance, Contemporary, Chick Lit

Publisher: Summit Media

Release Date: 2009

Synopsis: Here’s what happens when you play pretend.

When Zack asks Jasmine to pretend to be his ex-girlfriend, she gamely agrees, thinking it would be fun. A few years later, she still has to keep convincing people that they were never together! Then one day, she finds out he’s getting married—to someone she’d just met once! All of a sudden, things aren’t so clear-cut anymore. Can Jasmine sort out her feelings (sometimes, she can’t even tell real from pretend when it comes to her and Zack) before it’s too late?

My Thoughts:

I am a very girly person and I love fun, cute love stories. Love stories that are written well never fail to make me absolutely giddy. I am not afraid to admit the my girly self squees a lot when I encounter a cute story. One day I was struck with the want of a cute love story and so I picked up My Imaginary Ex. Do you know what happened when I read it? I squeeed. (Is squeeed even a word?)

image

My Imaginary Ex is a fun, amusing friend-to-couple tale that is very different from the norm. When Jasmine was in college a boy named Zack asked her to pretend to be his ex-girlfriend because the girl he liked only dated boys who had dated before. After the lie was created it just kept growing and growing. Years later, people still think that Jasmine and Zack used to date each other!

One day Jasmine finds out that Zack is getting married to a Kimmy, a woman she has never met. After this happens things quickly turn complicated when two of Zack’s past ex-girlfriends* meet up with Jasmine and tell her that she must stop the marriage! Jasmine must figure out how she feels about Zack before time runs out.

I admit that My Imaginary Ex had a story structure that took some time to get used to for me. The story has many flashbacks that show how Jasmine and Zack’s relationship was in the past and how it got to it is in present time. When I did get used to it I found that it worked really well. I was able to find more about Jasmine and Zack which would only make me root for them as a couple even more.

The characters in My Imaginary Ex were fun to read about. Jasmine is a bit dense but she is a nice character to read about overall. I could tell that Lena and Marjorie really cared about Zack even though they were driven to break up with him in the past. It is not everyday one gets to read a love story where the ex-girlfriends do the matchmaking! Zack is the kind a of guy who is afraid to confess to the one he loves in fear of ruining the friendship between them. He doesn’t let people know much about himself but he is still sweet. He did have a interesting way of getting his crush Lena to date him in college 😛

I love stories where friends turn into a couple so Jasmine and Zack’s relationship worked well for me. I know this sounds really cheesy but I do want the love of my life to be friends with me first before we start dating so I guess that was probably why I liked this story so much.

My Imaginary Ex was a fun, short book to romp through and I would definitely recommend it for someone who is in search for a cute story. This book fulfilled my girly want for a love story. At first, I was afraid to read this book because I knew that I would compare it to Fairy Tale Fail which was by the same author. Thankfully, this book was still good. (Fairy Tale Fail is still better, though!)

Now if you need me I will be browsing through the store in search of Love Your Frenemies which tells Kimmy’s side of the story!

image

5 thoughts on “My Imaginary Ex by Mina V. Esguerra: review

  1. From the title, I assumed this would be a hilarious book about an ex who never existed at all (and maybe people discover he/she was invented?) But this sounds pretty funny, too.

    I have always loved the idea of falling in love with a friend. I think I was influenced pretty heavily by L. M. Montgomery’s romances.

    • That’s what I thought this book would be about also. The title is kind of misleading. My Fake Ex would have been more fitting 😛 This book is more cute than funny but there are some moments that made me laugh a bit.
      I haven’t read Anne of Green Gables yet… But I really need to. I have heard nothing but good things about the beloved series!

  2. Pingback: February In Review | book adoration

  3. Lovely review, Lottie 🙂 I too am an EXTREMELY girly person at times and love cute stories, so this sounds exactly like my type of book. 🙂 Looking forward to your next review!

Leave a Reply

