Kimi ni Todoke Vol.1 by Karuho Shiina: review

Kimi ni Todoke: From Me to You, Volume 1 Kimi ni Todoke Vol.1 by Karuho Shiina

Series: Kimi ni Todoke #1

My rating: 4 out of 5 Stars

Genre: Romance, Slice-of-Life, Shojo

Publisher: VIZ Media LLC

Release Date: August 4th 2009

Synopsis: Sawako Kuronuma is the perfect heroine…for a horror movie. With her jet-black hair, sinister smile and silent demeanor, she’s often mistaken for Sadako, the haunting character from Ringu. Unbeknownst to but a few, behind her scary façade is a very misunderstood teenager. Shy and pure of heart, she just wants to make friends. But when Kazehaya, the most popular boy in class, befriends her, she’s sure to make more than just that–she’s about to make some enemies too!

My thoughts: I really didn’t know what to expect when going into this manga. I have heard a little about the main focus of the story but not much else. I would say that the first volume has left me impressed!

Sawako is a girl who has trouble interacting with others. Despite this, however, she is a very sweet girl and is eager to help out. If only her classmates would ignore the fact that she looks like a girl in a horror movie. Her appearance strikes fear into the hearts of her classamates. This causes her to become a social outcast. One day the popular Kazehaya becomes Sawako’s friend. Because of this, Sawako is finally able to open up to others.

My heart went out to Sawako. Her self-esteem has been horribly damaged by the bullying she has been through. Sawako is afraid to afraid to open up to others as she is under the belief that everybody hates her. As the reader of the story, I was able to see that Sawako is really just a shy but sweet girl who has been through a lot. I found her to be a painfully realistic character and she had a lot of depth to her.

Kazehaya could have easily been one of those characters that are as flat as cardboard but he wasn’t. He was realistic and very likeable. He is a very popular kid but he still gets embarrassed and shy. He is a very positive influence on Sawako and helps her reach out to others and make friends.

I loved reading about Sawako and Kazehaya’s friendship. It was realistic with all the awkward moments, fun times, and the positive feelings that friends should be able to give each other. Kazehaya does have a crush on Sawako but Sawako sees him as more of an older brother. This will probably change as the series progresses.

Kimi ni Todoke is a refreshing manga that focuses on the power of friendship and I enjoyed it immensely. I would recommend it this anyone who wants a realistic but also cute read.

12 thoughts on “Kimi ni Todoke Vol.1 by Karuho Shiina: review

  1. I feel like I can relate to Sawako so much. ❤ She's a social outcast and I am too. You just need a little push from someone to get out of your little bubble. C:

    Anyways, sob story done, I've heard some adorable things about this story and I am going to be reading it soon as well! Though my friend has been persisting me on watching the anime, Imma read it first. 😀

    P.S. you didn't use any GIFs in your review! I like the GIFs! C:

    • You’re right! No Gifs in this review. I just couldn’t find any the properly showed my feelings about this book ^^”
      Sawako is one of the most relateable shojo characters I have read so far. I am sometimes very shy around people I have just met but I normally show my true self after spending a few hours with them.
      *hugs* You are amazing Delaney 🙂

  2. Pingback: January Wrap-up…Welcome February! | book adoration

  3. Pingback: Filling The Bookcase(4) | book adoration

  4. Lottie~~~ OMG!!! I love you. Thank you for recommending this manga to me. I haven’t read it, but I saw a live action for this one and have watched it. I so loooove it. If I were Kazehaya, I will fall for Sadako (Sawako)

    • Sawako is one of the most adorable manga characters I have ever read about 🙂 I didn’t know there was a live action! I am guessing it is a good one–yay! To be honest, I have never watched a live action in my life. The reason is because it is commonly known that most live actions aren’t very good, but I will give the Kimi ni Todoke live action a try.
      I hope you enjoy the manga as much as the live action if you get the chance to read it.

      • I hope to read the real manga, hopefully there’s one for children. I can’t read much Kanji, but in some mangas they have the hiragana characters on top of the kanji to make words more understandable to young minds.

        I like the live action movie. It made me cry a lot!

      • I need to watch the live action *starts her search through the internet*
        You mean the untranslated, original version of the manga? I don’t think I could EVER learn the written Japanese language. To many different forms of writing T_T

      • I watched mine via Youtube. I downloaded the 10 parts in my phone and watched it from there. Hehe.

        Yeah, the original version. It has more appeal to me, especially reading their exclamations and expressions. I agree that Japanese has too many forms of writings and I mastered only two. Kanji makes me crazy.

      • I guess there are some things that are left out when Japanese is translated to English. I am currently learning Chinese in school so maybe that will help when I decide to dedicate my time to learning Japanese.
        Thanks for the information. I already favorite the page so I can watch it tomorrow 🙂

Leave a Reply

