If I Stay by Gayle Forman: review

If I Stay (If I Stay, #1)If I Stay by Gayle Forman

Hardback, Paperback

Series: If I Stay #1

My Rating: 4 out of 5 Stars

Age Group: Young Adult

Genre: Romance, Contemporary

Publisher: Dutton Juvenile

Release Date: April 2nd 2009

Synopsis: In a single moment, everything changes. Seventeen-year-old Mia has no memory of the accident; she can only recall riding along the snow-wet Oregon road with her family. Then, in a blink, she finds herself watching as her own damaged body is taken from the wreck…

A sophisticated, layered, and heart-achingly beautiful story about the power of family and friends, the choices we all make, and the ultimate choice Mia commands.

My thoughts: I am a little lost for words. If I Stay is a beautiful novel about love, happiness, sadness, and choices. This book is able to make a person’s heart ache. If I Stay is a very stunning and poignant novel.

I loved the way Forman weaved the musical element to the story. The music played a very big role in the story. It brought the characters together and they felt a great passion for it. It made the book feel like a beautifully sad song. I also liked how the sadness in If I Stay is a pure kind of sadness. There is no meaningless melodrama and I appreciate that. The book doesn’t try to manipulate the reader’s emotions but tries to sincerely show the story how it is.

This book also has a unique story structure. If I Stay is told through the present and flashbacks of Mia’s life. I thought that this was done really well. The parts of the story that showed us what was happening in the present showed us the doubt and suffering Mia’s going through. We really get to see Mia’s pain. The flashbacks show the happiness Mia had in her life before it was all stolen away after the tragic event.

The characters in this novel are almost tangible. They had their own passions and they had a lot of depth to them. They felt very real and they all had their own purpose in the story. Mia’s best friend, Kim understood her in a way nobody else did. Mia’s boyfriend, Adam was loving and devoted. And Mia’s family was also wonderfully written. All the relationships in the novel are resonant and beautiful.

This book made me shed more than a couple of tears. It was sad and made me a little bit depressed but oddly, it was also uplifting. The ending was a beautiful one and I don’t think it could have ended better. If I Stay is one of those books that when you finish you whisper praise to the author.

16 thoughts on “If I Stay by Gayle Forman: review

  1. This is an amazing review! Oh my gosh! The book was sort of like a song, I had never thought about that before. This book was positively beautiful and amazing and I’m glad you liked it as much as i did. Next, you MUST read the sequel Where She Went– It is even more beautiful than this one. 🙂

  2. Wonderful review! Thanks for sharing. I have this in my to-be-read list, but after reading your review, I am afraid to read it. I am scared of books which give me emotional trauma after. Call me a coward, but I have nightmares after reading a very sad and tragic novel.

    • Don’t be afraid! You will be missing out on a beautiful story. I get more than nightmares after reading something sad. I get super depressed and listen to sad songs for a long time. <—I am a very emotional girl 😛

      • Well, so am I. I have a lot of baggages that a single line can make me cry. I will try to be brave and read it.

  3. I cried when I finished this one too! It was a couple of years ago and I vividly remember sitting on a couch in the library of the university my brother attends – my dad thought I was in physical pain. Splendid review for a splendid book!

  4. Pingback: January Wrap-up…Welcome February! | book adoration

Leave a Reply

