When Love Comes To Town by Tom Lennon: review

When Love Comes to TownWhen Love Comes To Town by Tom Lennon

Standalone

My rating: 3.5 out of 5 Stars

Genre: YA Fiction, Glbt, Romance, Contemporary, Realistic

Publisher: Albert Whitman Teen

Release Date: March 1st 2013

Synopsis: The year is 1990, and in his hometown of Dublin, Ireland, Neil Byrne plays rugby, keeps up with the in-crowd at his school, and is just a regular guy. A guy who’s gay. It’s a secret he keeps from the wider world as he explores the city at night and struggles to figure out how to reveal his real self–and to whom.

My thoughts: This is my first Glbt novel so take my opinion with a grain of salt. I didn’t know what to expect from it but I do know that I enjoyed reading it. When Love Comes To Town has depth, meaning, and I found it to be very thought provoking.

When Love Comes To Town is a story about a boy named Neil coming to terms with his sexuality. Neil has known he was gay since he was ten. He has been playing the role of the class clown ever since then. He keeps to himself and has been distancing himself from his family. I loved how Neil was written. He strong in some ways but also very weak in other ways. His fear of showing his true self really shows through his narration. Neil imagines in massive detail about what will happen if he says or does a certain thing before he decides to go through with it. His thought process was interesting and very different.

I also noticed that the love Neil feels for people differs. Neil’s love for Ian was pure, his love for Jack shows his need to be wanted, and his love for Shane was a lustful one.

The other characters in the book are also well rounded. They all had their own quirks and flaws. We also get to learn their stories. This kept them from being forgettable and made them memorable.

The book contains good writing that often slips into the style of stream of thought. I thought that it worked well. It allowed the reader to learn more about Neil’s way of thinking. When Love Comes To Town made my eyes tear up at some moments. This does not mean that the book is lacking in humour and happy moments. I laughed, I teared up, and I cheered on for the characters.

I believe that When Love Comes To Town was a good introduction to the Glbt genre and I look forward to more 🙂

*An advanced copy was given to me by the publisher via Netgalley

5 thoughts on “When Love Comes To Town by Tom Lennon: review

  1. I love this review! I haven’t read any books featuring a gay/lesbian couple as the main couple yet…I really want to! I want to read this one.

  2. Pingback: January Wrap-up…Welcome February! | book adoration

Leave a Reply

