Hysteria by Megan Miranda: review

Hysteria Hysteria by Megan Miranda

Standalone

My rating: 1.5 out of 5 Stars

Age Group: Young Adult

Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Contemporary, Romance

Publisher: Walker Childrens

Release date: February 5th 2013

Synopsis: Mallory killed her boyfriend, Brian. She can’t remember the details of that night but everyone knows it was self-defense, so she isn’t charged. But Mallory still feels Brian’s presence in her life. Is it all in her head? Or is it something more? In desperate need of a fresh start, Mallory is sent to Monroe, a fancy prep school where no one knows her . . . or anything about her past. But the feeling follows her, as do her secrets. Then, one of her new classmates turns up dead. As suspicion falls on Mallory, she must find a way to remember the details of both deadly nights so she can prove her innocence-to herself and others.

My thoughts: My thoughts about this book can be described with only one word: boring. Hysteria had a great premise but it was not executed well. Awhile reading this book I kept drifting off and then after realizing that I was bored out of my mind I would put the book down and do something else.

I found Mallory to be a boring and often times annoying character. She never did anything to help herself and I didn’t find much personality to her. I want to at least like the main character of a book and not just tolerate them. The other characters did not redeem the book in any way either. I didn’t like Mallory’s family, Jason, Colleen, Reid(I only slightly liked him), or any other characters this book had. They were either boring or had not purpose in the story whatsoever. If I don’t like the characters than something else has to be done really well in order for me to like a book. Unfortunately, this book didn’t have any other redeemable qualities.

This book could have had a great eerie atmosphere and mystery but two things got in the way with that. I didn’t find the writing to be very engaging. I was not able to feel any atmosphere or emotion through the writing. I read books like this because I like a creepy atmosphere but this book disappointed me greatly. I also thought that the mystery was boring. The whole book was just Mallory remembering things about the night she killed her boyfriend. There was not investigating at all.

The ending did not impress me either. Everything was really rushed and I didn’t enjoy it at all. I did enjoy the last sentence of the book because then I knew that the book had ended. I am not saying that nobody will enjoy this book. If you liked Megan Miranda’s other book, Fracture then you might like this book as well. Hysteria was just not my cup of tea 🙂

*An advanced copy was given to me by the publisher via Netgalley

8 thoughts on “Hysteria by Megan Miranda: review

  1. Don’t judge the book by its cover. The cover looks interesting so I thought it would be okay. However, based on your review, I’m not sure if I will take my time to read.

  2. Pingback: January Wrap-up…Welcome February! | book adoration

Leave a Reply

