Speechless by Hannah Harrington: review

Speechless by Hannah HarringtonSpeechless by Hannah Harrington

Paperback

Standalone

My rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

Age Group: Young Adult

Genre: Contemporary, Romance, Realistic

Publisher: HarlequinTeen

Release Date: August 28th 2012

Synopsis: Everyone knows that Chelsea Knot can’t keep a secret

Until now. Because the last secret she shared turned her into a social outcast—and nearly got someone killed. Now Chelsea has taken a vow of silence—to learn to keep her mouth shut, and to stop hurting anyone else.

And if she thinks keeping secrets is hard, not speaking up when she’s ignored, ridiculed and even attacked is worse.

But there’s strength in silence, and in the new friends who are, shockingly, coming her way—people she never noticed before; a boy she might even fall for. If only her new friends can forgive what she’s done. If only she can forgive herself.

My thoughts: I have a lot to say about this book but first…

Hannah Harrington deserves some applause!

 I didn’t want to say goodbye to this book. Despite the pure white cover the story is an emotional one that contains colorful characters. Speechless is a simple but also creative and wonderful story about self-forgiveness and finding true happiness. This book displays a lot of heart and depth.

Chelsea is a very difficult character to like in the beginning but she turned into a character that I absolutely adored. At first, she is a shallow, selfish, and unlikable girl who cannot keep secrets. She is a girl who loves being the first to know about something and then passing it on. She is a girl who never thinks about the damage is would cause and the reputation it would ruin. This all changes when one day at a party, Chelsea sees something that she is not supposed to see. And she tells people about it. The secret she tells nearly gets someone killed. Now her two friends are in jail, her best friend hates her, and she is a social outcast.

In order to forgive herself, Chelsea takes a vow of silence. She doesn’t do this to become closer to God but rather she is doing it for herself. She goes on a journey of self-discovery to find a new way of life that makes her happy. Through this vow Chelsea is able to grow a lot throughout the novel. There are subtle changes to Chelsea’s character which later add up. She starts becoming a better and happier person. What I loved about Chelsea the most is the fire in her personality and how hopeful she was. No matter how much she was bullied Chelsea moved forward and never gave up. Chelsea’s voice is engaging, charismatic, and interesting. definitely a character that I wont’ be forgetting.

Chelsea also meets some unlikely friends over at Rosie’s Diner. The sweet,smart, and lovely Asha was a great friend to Chelsea and helped her in her time of need. I loved her presence in the novel and wanted more of her. Sam was adorable and cute and I loved him for that. He is a nice guy. The rest of the crew: Andy, Dex, Lou, and Noah are also written wonderfully well. Each one of the characters had their own troubles and flaws but also had great qualities that made them outstanding.

I loved the subtle romance in the book. It is slow, believable, and really sweet. It also helps that I love Sam and all his adorableness 🙂 I also liked that it was a very small part of Chelsea’s story. Speechless is about Chelsea’s growth as a person and the book didn’t try to be anything but that.

I highly recommend this book. It addresses the problem of bullying and also has many lovely messages in the pages. Hannah Harrington’s writing is engaging and highly readable. The homosexual themes in this book are handled fairly and are also very touching. Speechless is a Contemporary novel that I will never forget.

10 thoughts on “Speechless by Hannah Harrington: review

  1. I was kinda shocked that they would keep the all white cover. But when I actually saw in real life, not just face-to-face on the computer with it, I thought it was perfect. And it sounds like such a perfect cover, I’m dying to get my hands on it! Ugh, adorable guys kill me. * v *

  2. I just saw this gorgeous book at Barnes and Noble today! The beautiful cover and feel of the novel impressed me; your review gives me all the more reason to read it. I can’t wait to read about an unlikable protagonist who is still a force to be reckoned with – fantastic review as always!

    • Thank you! The cover is beautiful isn’t it? Very different from all the girls in dresses I see all the time 😛 I demand hope you read this book. It is one of my new favorites 🙂

  3. I love this review, especially the first paragraph when you say that even though it has a plain white cover, it’s really colorful 🙂 I’ve been wanting to read this book for a long time, so hopefully I will read it soon- Your review convinced me!

  4. Pingback: January Wrap-up…Welcome February! | book adoration

Leave a Reply

