Happy New Year!

Happy New Year, everyone ๐Ÿ™‚ Today is the first day of 2013! I had a very good 2012 andย I want to have an even better 2013. In order to keep track of all my goals I have created a list of my bookish New Year’s resolutions:

online-image-editor

1. Buy from used bookstores more

It is very expensive buying new books so I want to save some money and buy books from a used bookstore instead when I can.

2. Read books I already have

I have a couple of books left over from 2012 and I want to read them all. I buy books before I finish the ones I already have so I have a lot of books gathering dust.

3. Read a variety of genres

I want to read more of the different genres and expand my horizons a bit. I might find a new favorite genre by doing this!

4. Add 100 books to my bookshelf

I don’t have many books on my bookshelf, unfortunately. I usually check out books from the library, borrow from a friend, or use Netgalley. I have some of my favorite books and books with pretty covers(I love pretty covers)ย on the shelf but I want to fill it up.

5. Keep a reading journal

I often think of things to include in my review of a book but forget about it. Writing down my thoughts in a reading journal will probably help me write my reviews and also remember the story better(although I already do that pretty well).

6. Read more classics

“Classic. A book which people praise and don’t read.” <–This quote has inspired me to read more classics this year. I want to read and review five classics. I am sometimes intimidated by classics so this will be a thing for me to do.

7. Read 100 books

The most important goal I have this year is to read a lot. I have learned that the average reader readsย six books a year and I want to bump that number up this year.

I have also entered some challenges this year.

I wish you all a Happy New Year!

11 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. Great goals, we have quite a few in common. Reading books that you already have and filling up your shelves may seem contradictory but I am confident that you will pull it off!

    • The two goals are a bit contradictory now that you say it. I only have a few books I have not read so it should be fairly easy, though ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you!I have confidence that you can complete your 2013 goals to ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. HAAAAPY NEW YEARS, LOTTIE!!!! Hope you accomplish your goals. My number one priority: READ MORE!!!!! I got sluggish after Nano, so I’m coming back.

    I have a question, for Netgalley, do you get to keep the books or you have to return it back afterwards?

    • HAPPY NEW YEARS DELANEY!!!!
      Netgalley distributes digital ARCs which normally have an archive date. When the archive date is reached the ARC deletes itself. Although some eARCs have no archive date set most of them. So yes, you do have to return the book but it requires no effort at all ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I’m a sucker for pretty good covers too. Second hand books are a delight. It takes a bit of time to rummage through them and but the end result is always satisfying. I’m positive you get that shelf full as with reading 100 books. Looking forward reading all about it the coming months ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Happy New Year ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

