Top Five Manga Of 2012

I read a lot of manga this year. Some of them were wonderful and some…not so much. This is my list of my favorite manga series that I discovered this year!

Pandora Hearts, Vol. 1 (Pandora Hearts, #1)Future Diary, Volume 1

Pandora Hearts by Jun Mochizuki

Future Diary by Sakae Esuno

There are so many reasons I love Pandora Hearts! The characters are all memorable in their own way. The art is just fantastic and it gets even better as the series goes on. The mystery is mind-blowing! I can’t count how many times Mochizuki made my mind explode awhile reading this series. I just know my mind exploded many times. I am eleven volumes in this series now.

Future Diary is one of my favorite manga series for three reasons: Yuno Gasai, Akise Aru, and the story. Yuno is a psychotic Yandere and Akise is just awesome. Put them both in the same series than I get an immediate favorite! I love the idea of this manga: Cellphones that tell the future mixed with a fight to the death.  I am two and a half volumes in this series so far.

Kitchen Princess, Volume 1Alice in the Country of Hearts, Vol. 1 (Alice in the Country of Hearts, #1)

Kitchen Princess by Miyuki Kobayashi, Natsumi Ando

Alice in the Country of Hearts by QuinRose

Kitchen Princess is filled with cuteness and I love it! I love the cooking, I love the art, I love the characters, I love the cuteness! I am four volumes in this series so far.

Alice in the Country of Hearts is a retelling of Alice in Wonderland(Do you see why I love it?). I loved the world of Wonderland in this manga and I wanted to learn more about how it worked and more about Alice. Unfortunately, the ending came to soon so we don’t learn much. I still love the story though! The art is very lovely and the characters are also very nice. I completed this series.

Ultra Maniac, Vol. 1 (Ultra Maniac, #1)

Ultra Maniac by Wataru Yoshizumi

I love the magical girl genre so I was very excited to read Ultra Maniac. This manga did not disappoint. It was very cute and I loved reading about all the awkward situations Nina got her friend into. The art was not as cutesy as I thought it would be but it was still very nice to look at. This series is very rereadable. I completed this series.

Leave a Reply

