Top 10 Books Of 2012

The end of 2012 is approaching and I believe it is time to make a list of my favorite that I read this year! I have read many wonderful books this year so it was really hard to decide. After a good amount of struggling I managed to make the list. So without further ado, here is my top ten list of 2012!

Stolen: A Letter to My CaptorUnspoken (The Lynburn Legacy, #1)The Diviners (The Diviners, #1)

Stolen: A Letter to My Captor by Lucy Christopher

Unspoken by Sarah Rees Brennan

The Diviners by Libba Bray

Stolen was a very though provoking book and made a big impact on me in a quiet way. The characters in this book were unforgettable. I felt very unsure of my own emotions and I don’t think I will be finding another book that effected me like this one anytime soon.

Unspoken was a delightful book to read. The development of the characters was amazing,  the romance was captivating, and the humour was hilarious. The book contains secrets and betrayal. This is a book that left me wanting more. I eagerly await for the next book.

The Diviners was amazing! I loved the dark atmosphere of the novel. The mystery and horror kept me reading until the last page. Evie is such a memorable character with her loud personality. I just could not help but love her! I can not remember a villain that scared me more than Naughty John.

Dairy Queen (Dairy Queen, #1)Stormdancer (The Lotus War, #1)

Dairy Queen by Catherine Gilbert Murdock

Stormdancer by Jay Kristoff

Dairy Queen was an amazing light read. D.J. tells her story with such honesty and humour that I fell in love with her immediately. The book is about personal desires and responsibilities. The romance between D.J. and Brian was well developed and not sappy. I am currently reading the second book of the Dairy Queen trilogy and I am loving it.

Stormdancer has had a fairly large amount hype surrounding it. I think it lived up to it. The writing was simply beautiful and I was enraptured by the story. I loved Yukiko and Buruu. Their friendship was heartwarming and I loved reading about it. The steampunk and Japanese themes were awesome and I loved the world building.

Tiger LilyAmy and Roger's Epic Detour

Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson

Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

Tiger Lily broke my heart into a million pieces. The story of the girl named Tiger Lily was heart-wrenching and beautiful. This book is simply a masterpiece and I will never forget it.

I love road trips so when I saw Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour on the shelf in the bookstore I let out a little scream. The book did not disappoint. The writing was great and the scrapbook pages made the story seem even more real. Amy was an amazing main character and Roger was so cute!

Going VintageWhat's Left of Me (The Hybrid Chronicles, #1)

Going Vintage by Lindsey Leavitt

What’s Left of Me by Kat Zhang

Going Vintage was a very cute and quirky story! The idea of “going vintage” kind of scares me but I loved reading about it. Mallory was a very relatable character and she was a very entertaining narrator. This book was a very enjoyable read and I will watch out for more of Leavitt’s books.

What’s Left of Me is one of my favorite dystopian novels. It had a lot of substance and emotions in the pages. Eva and Addie’s story was heart-wrenching and sad and I felt very sorry for them. The sibling relationship the two girls have is an amazing thing to read about. The story is not action filled but I loved it anyway. I can hardly wait for the next book!

Bossypants

Bossypants by Tina Fey

Tina Fey has an hilarious personality and it really shows in her writing. Bossypants was simply hilarious and very enjoyable. I learned a lot about Tina Fey awhile reading this book and it has easily become one of my favorites.

 

14 thoughts on “Top 10 Books Of 2012

  1. Great List! I’m reading Unspoken right now and I do want to read Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour. I’ve heard good things about it, but I might borrow it from the library rather than purchasing it.

    I’ve heard mixed reviews for Stormdancer,so I’m not sure if I will pick it up, but I love Jason Chan’s artwork. He’s done covers for The Broken Empire Trilogy by Mark Lawrence and they’re simply spectacular.

    • How are you enjoying Unspoken so far? I hope you love it so I can fangirl with you 😄
      I believe that most of the reviewers that did not like the book were irritated by the misuse of the Japanese language and the inaccuracies of Japanese customs and traditions. I was able to ignore them and ending up loving the book a lot 🙂 The cover was done by Jason Chan? I didn’t know that! I have read your reviews on The Broken Empire books. They seem wonderful!
      Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour was amazing! Read it read it read it read it!

      • It’s good so far. Well there was a point where Kami was getting on my nerves and she’s back in my good books for now. Haha I hope I love it too, I’m going to be disappointed again if I don’t.

        Yeah from the reviews I read people were upset with the misuse of the Japanese language and I think people felt that there was just too much description and the plot moved really slowly. The cover that you have in your post was done by Jason Chan I believe.

        Haha I LOVE The Broken Empire Trilogy. It’s not for everyone mind you because of the main character, but I really enjoy it lol.

        I’ll let you know if I do end up reading Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour sometime next year.

      • I thought that the plot moved to slowly in the beginning also… I was kind of irritated with the author(after reading the book and writing my review) when he said that his research involved only watching anime and reading manga -.- If you want to write about a culture you need to do more research than that!

  2. Loved Stolen and Bossypants, didn’t quite like Dairy Queen, but great list! I will be adding the books I have not read onto my to-read list soon… also, Merry Christmas. (:

Leave a Reply

