Drama by Raina Telgemeier: review

DramaDrama by Raina Telgemeier

Paperback

Standalone

My rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

Genre: YA Fiction, MG Fiction, LGBT, Romance, Realistic

Publisher: GRAPHIX

Synopsis: Callie loves theater. And while she would totally try out for her middle school’s production of Moon Over Mississippi, she can’t really sing. Instead she’s the set designer for the drama department stage crew, and this year she’s determined to create a set worthy of Broadway on a middle-school budget. But how can she, when she doesn’t know much about carpentry, ticket sales are down, and the crew members are having trouble working together? Not to mention the onstage AND offstage drama that occurs once the actors are chosen. And when two cute brothers enter the picture, things get even crazier!

My thoughts: I read Telgemeier’s Smile and loved it so when I found out that she had created another graphic novel I did a little happy-dance.

I think that Drama is just as good as Smile if not better. The way the graphic novel is told through “Acts” instead of chapters fit very well with the story of the Drama Club The art was clean and colorful so I couldn’t help but love it. Here is a sample of the first couple of pages.

IMG_0110[1]

IMG_0112[1]

As you can see the graphic novel opens up with an audience, a stage, and the very awesome characters of this novel walking across it. I thought that this was a great way to build the play-like atmosphere in this fun graphic novel.

I loved Callie and her purple and pink hair! I thought that she was a very loveable, quirky, and relatable character. She is the main character in Drama and she fulfills the part well. She made me laugh and put emotional investment in her. I loved her passion for theater and her determination. She also has the best ideas! There are also two other characters that this graphic novel focuses on a lot too: Jesse and Justin (who is hilarious). They are both twins and have contrasting personalities. Justin being more outgoing and Jesse being a little shy. I found them both to be as loveable as Callie. The other Drama club members add more fun to the story and I appreciated them.

There is also a some LGBT characters in this story. I thought it was handled realistically and in an unbiased way. I think it should also be said that although there is romance in Drama it is not the main part of the story.

This graphic novel would be great addition to a bookshelf. I think that Drama would be a great read for lovers of the Young Adult genre. I also believe that this graphic novel is appropriate for the Middle Grade age group.

6 thoughts on “Drama by Raina Telgemeier: review

Leave a Reply

