Ponies by Kij Johnson: mini short story review

Ponies by Kij Johnson

Short Story

Genre: Fantasy, Horror

My Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

Synopsis: If you want to be friends with TheOtherGirls, you’re going to have to give something up; this is the way it’s always been, as long as there have been Ponies.

My Thoughts: This review is going to be very short as I just want to get the word out about this fantastic story. I read this short story thinking it would be a My Little Pony fan fiction. I was very very very wrong. I should have looked at the cover illustration more closely. This short story does have colorful ponies with wings and horns but it is very disturbing. After reading this I only had one thing to say: “What the heck did I just read?”

After clearing my head of the colorful bloody ponies I could find the message in the story very easily. This story is a metaphor for what lengths children-and adults- will go to in order to fit in and most of the time it is not even worth it.

Leave a Reply

