My Ideal Bookshelf

*This post is inspired by Lilee’s post. Please visit her secondary blog and her primary blog! She is so awesome and nice 🙂

My Ideal BookshelfI have recently found out about this book called My Ideal Bookshelf. Instead of asking people the dreaded question of what is their favorite book it ask people what books would you pick to be on your bookshelf that define you as a person. I was really intrigued by this question because I have never been asked that before. I have always been asked what my favorite book was and I have(and forever will be) at lost for an answer. I have read many great books and I have a lot of favorite books but all of them are my favorites for different reasons. Some are my favorites because they made a big impact on me and some are my favorites just because they were able to make me smile. So without further ado here is my Ideal Bookshelf.

Well, the first book I would pick to be on my bookshelf is the Bible because it is the book after all! I really love reading the Creation Story and Adam and Eve. I have learned a lot about God, Jesus, and my religion reading this book. I feel that it really defines me as a person because I grew up with it.

Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll definitely has a spot on my bookshelf. I am a Alice in Wonderland lover and forever will be! I just love books that make no sense! The strange adventures that Alice has and the quirky and weird characters she meets along the way are very memorable and will always stay with me.

The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger would also be on my bookshelf. The impact on me has lasted ever since I have read it even though I don’t know why it impacted me so much. I actually didn’t find an actual plot or any growth in Holden’s character until the very end. The Catcher in the Rye is one of those books that just make you feel something for some unknown reason. I especially enjoyed reading the scene where Holden was wondering about the birds…

Where the Red Fern Grows  is one of those rare books that made me cry so much my cheeks were tear-stained so it has earned its place on my bookshelf. I have learned that books about dogs are always the books that make me emotional to the extreme and Where the Red Fern Grows is one of the dog stories that I have remembered for many years. This book has made a big emotional impact on me and I still have a sorrowful feeling in my heart when I think of the book.

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee is a book that was introduced to me by a teacher and I am forever grateful that she did. “Mockingbirds don’t do one thing but make music for us to enjoy. They don’t eat up people’s gardens, don’t nest in corncribs, they don’t do one thing but sing their hearts out for us. That’s why it’s a sin to kill a mockingbird.”  That line has always stayed with me ever since I read the page it was on. To Kill a Mockingbird showed the prejudice in life and how we find heroes in the most unexpected forms.

Another one of my favorite books is The Moral Compass: Stories for a Life’s Journey . The book is a collection of short stories the were collected from many different people and cultures. There was one short story called The Twelve Months. The Twelve Months is a story that will forever stay in my heart. My mother read this to me when I was very young and I remember loving it immensely. Although the story was short it was able to stamp itself into my memories and heart. The Moral Compass is filled with meaningful stories and some pretty funny ones to.

Stolen by Lucy Christopher is on my shelf because it is just beautiful…. Lucy Christopher played with my emotions but it was in a natural and not manipulative way. Stolen was very complex and made me feel emotionally confused. Stolen was very thought-provoking and has a special place in my heart

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen is certainly going to be on my bookshelf because of all the wit and humour. The characters were all quirky and I love them all. Austen is a very clever writer and her words flow very well together. I am only half-way through and I love it to bits already. I have developed a girl crush for Jane Austen.

Island of the Blue Dolphins is another one of the most memorable books I have ever read. I actually remember my mother recommending this to me to read many years ago. I did read it and remember loving it. The sadness,loneliness, and hardship Karana had to face was heartbreaking.

The Giving Tree is a picture book that will always stay in my heart. The love the tree shows to the boy is an unconditional one that I loved to read about but the boy outraged me because he just went to her when he needed something. The Giving Tree is very emotional(well, for me anyways) and the art has a unique style to it.

Now I do not know what my first book was but I do know that the Biscuit books by Alyssa Satin Capucilli were one of my first. My grandmother had bought me a huge book that held a collection of most of the Biscuit books and I remember rereading them and looking at the cute drawings(yes, I read picture books just because I like looking at art). Biscuit is a puppy that I will never forget(because I love puppies). The Junie B. Jones books were also one of the series that got me into reading.

My Ideal Bookshelf will probably change as time goes on because I always find new books I love.

8 thoughts on “My Ideal Bookshelf

  1. How funny that you would mention Scott O’Dell’s The Island of the Blue Dolphins. That is one of the only books from my childhood that I still own. It’s so sad in parts and it still makes me cry, especially when she loses her brother and then her dog. It has a great moral lesson to it and I don’t think I’ll ever part with it.

  2. Mmm i love The Catcher in the Rye. I got no idea why either! i just felt so relatable to him…maybe? i don’t know, but that ideal shelf sounds wonderful! (though half of it are ones i haven’t read yet. >____< )

Leave a Reply

