Stolen by Lucy Christopher: review

Stolen: A Letter to My Captor Stolen: A Letter to My Captor by Lucy Christopher

Genre: YA Fiction, Contemporary, Romance, Realistic

Publisher: Chicken House Ltd

Synopsis: Sixteen year old Gemma is kidnapped from Bangkok airport and taken to the Australian Outback. This wild and desolate landscape becomes almost a character in the book, so vividly is it described. Ty, her captor, is no stereotype. He is young, fit and completely gorgeous. This new life in the wilderness has been years in the planning. He loves only her, wants only her. Under the hot glare of the Australian sun, cut off from the world outside, can the force of his love make Gemma love him back? 

“And it’s hard to hate someone once you understand them.”

I do not think that I will be able to write a review that is able to show you how brilliant and heartbreaking Stolen is but I am going to try anyway….

When I was reading Stolen I could just tell that Lucy Christopher had written this book with all her heart and soul. Stolen was written in second person and the form of a letter. The writing flowed very well and beautifully. The way she described the desert of Australia was vivid and detailed. I could feel the hot sun on my back and the sand spilling through my fingers as I scooped it up. Christopher had written the Sandy Desert in such an endless and beautiful way.

Stolen is a book that looks into Stockholm Syndrome and Lucy Christopher’s writing had me feeling the effects of it myself. I was confused about my emotions and what I should be feeling. I didn’t know if I should be feeling hate, love, or indifference.

Gemma and Ty were fantastic characters. Gemma was a very real person. She had fears and was afraid. She didn’t know how to escape but she kept fighting. She felt anger, love, sadness, and loneliness. She also knew the truth of things and tried to do what was right. She felt very real to me and I hold her very close to my heart. Ty was angry, delusional, and damaged but at the same time he was a very sad, beautiful, and loving(in his own very strange way) character. His love for Gemma was obsessive and selfish love but it also felt like a selfless and true love at the same time. He really thought he was saving her instead of stealing her. The way he loved the land around him and the way he treated it was a very incredible thing to read. Ty is a very unforgettable character. Although slow the love between Ty and Gemma is an indescribable and strange love to read about. And the camel that is introduced to the story was a very meaningful character indeed. When I was reading about the camel I interpreted that she was a symbol of Gemma and her love for Ty. That camel was certainly a very fantastic camel.

In this book you can tell the stakes are not very high as it is quite obvious that Ty does not mean to hurt Gemma but even so the story of Stolen was heartbreaking, endearing, and beautiful.

I have also just learned that this is Lucy Christopher’s first novel… I wonder how brilliant her next novel is going to be…

I give Stolen: A Letter to My Captor 5 out of 5 Stars

6 thoughts on “Stolen by Lucy Christopher: review

Leave a Reply

