Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling: review

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Harry Potter, #1)Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

Series: Harry Potter #1

Genre: Childrens Fiction, Adventure, Fantasy, Middle Grade Fiction

Publisher: Scholastic Press

Synopsis: Harry Potter has no idea how famous he is. That’s because he’s being raised by his miserable aunt and uncle who are terrified Harry will learn that he’s really a wizard, just as his parents were. But everything changes when Harry is summoned to attend an infamous school for wizards, and he begins to discover some clues about his illustrious birthright. From the surprising way he is greeted by a lovable giant, to the unique curriculum and colorful faculty at his unusual school, Harry finds himself drawn deep inside a mystical world he never knew existed and closer to his own noble destiny.

Harry Potter is a magical experience! I loved the world Rowling created, her writing, and the story so much! I finished this faster than I thought I would! I really wish I had read this sooner because now I know what I have been missing! I also love the cover so much! The illustration is so cute and I love the style!

The characters are all colorful and relatable. I thought the characters were very well-developed. At first I thought that Harry was just a character to be pitied but after reading more about him I learned that he really had some good qualities. He is very brave, smart, and knew how to hold his own. Ron was a really cute and fun character. Hermione is a great female character. She might seem a little snobby and maybe unlikable at first but I started to really love her as the story progressed. Hermione was a very smart and brave character and I really loved how she had goals set for her life. I didn’t like Draco but I feel there is more to his character than there is revealed in this book and I hope there will be more development of Draco’s character in the next book. Severus Snape was a very mysterious character and I really wanted to know more about him! Rowling has given us information about him but I still want to know more about him-I love him as a character that much! Dumbledore was a very awesome character and he also has awesome quotes!

“It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live, remember that.”

“After all, to the well-organized mind, death is but the next great adventure.”

“The truth is a beautiful and terrible thing, and should therefore be treated with great caution.”

The Dursleys were very hateable and I really wanted to get a wand and turn them all into pigs!

The story was spendid and had a great pace! The mystery is very mysterious and I had to force myself not to look ahead. Suspense, excitement, and mystery was weaved into the story with a lot of skill. I really loved how Rowling had a lot of foreshadowing in her writing! You have to pay close attention for clues! The world building was superb. There is a lot of wands, robes, wizard hats, and broomsticks and I loved it all! Rowling was very creative and I really liked how she built the magical world that is Harry Potter. I loved reading about the photographs with the subjects moving inside them, the ingredients used for a spell, the Hogwarts houses, and everything else in the book! Rowling did an exquisite job with building the magic of the world and the Hogwarts Academy of Witchcraft and Wizardry.

Rowling has such fantastic writing! Her descriptions of the magical world was very detailed and I could imagine Hogwarts with such clarity. Her writing is creative and I enjoyed reading the words for the spells! Her ideas are refreshing and very entertaining. My only complaint was the use of capital letters when someone is yelling or screaming. It just irks me a bit when authors do that but I will forgive this book.

Harry Potter is a great and fantastic read that will have you sitting in your chair all day until you finish it! Rowling’s writing, characters, and world building sucks you in and makes you a part of the story.

 I give Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone 4 out of 5 Wands
4 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling: review

  1. Weird and crazy thing is? I haven’t read it yet! Hahaha, I keep reminding myself to, but I never get that urge to pick it up. Maybe I’ll pick it up soon, your review has reminded myself how terrible I am TT____TT .

    • That was was happening to me to 🙂 I would put off reading this because I would see another book that I wanted to read…I only read this book now because of my Potter obsessed friend!

Leave a Reply

