Gaba Kawa by Rie Takada: review

Gaba Kawa

Gaba Kawaby Rie Takada

Demons like Rara are supposed to cause mischief in the mortal world and draw humans to darkness. They’re not supposed to help mortals and they’re definitely not supposed to fall in love with them! But that’s just what happens when Rara enters high school, where a hot guy named Retsu Aku calls her “Gaba Kawa”!While demons gain power by causing mischief, the opposite is also true–if Rara uses any of her powers to help mortals, she’ll immediately lose that very power. If she loses enough power, she’ll disappear! Poor Rara. What’s a “Gaba Kawa” demon to do?

This. Was. So. Cute! I found myself saying “awww” and then right after saying that burst out in laughter. Gaba Kawa is a very funny read.

The characters were not exactly original but they were still able to keep me entertained and smiling. Rara was just hilarious! Her stupid ideas to be with her love and the embarrassing situations she got herself into were priceless! She had a very awkward, funny, and sweet personality(her being a demon just makes it even more funny). The love interest, Retsu was nothing special but I did grow fond of him. His love for Rara was cute when he did confess to her.  The rest of the characters were all hilarious with all their stereotypical but loveable personalities. I felt like gathering up all of them for a big group hug.

The story was not something I have never seen before but was very cute and executed well. I very much-loved reading about Rara’s goal to get Retsu to fall in love with her. The only thing that bothered me was the insta-love that took place but that is easily forgotten. I think what made me love this manga so much was because of all the comedy. The comedy would just come at the most random times and I would crack up. I can not say how much I loved all the comedy. Gaba Kawa really took off when the conflict was introduced. The ending confused me though because Rara personality seemed to change drastically but it was a happy ending. Although it was not the most meaningful substance Gaba Kawa had a very light and enjoyable story.

The art was so cute and amazing. The mangaka had such a talent of putting just the right expression on the characters. The stupid and funny faces when the comedy happened, the cutesy OMG expressions when something cute and romantic happened, and the amazing art when the time called for it were all just amazing. The character designs were all great and I sometimes found myself just staring at some of the character’s designs. The art in Gaba Kawa is definitely something to look for!

Gaba Kawa is a very light and enjoyable story that had me smiling throughout reading it. Although it is not the most original manga it is definitely a cute and funny one.

I give Gaba Kawa 4 out of 5 Stars

Leave a Reply

