The Dead Girls Detective Agency by Suzy Cox: review

The Dead Girls Detective Agency

The Dead Girls Detective Agency by Suzy Cox

Pop quiz: What would you do if you had to solve your own murder to get anywhere in death?

Maybe if I hadn’t slept through my alarm, slammed into Kristin–my high school’s reigning mean

girl–or stepped in a puddle, destroying my mom’s new suede DVF boots (which I borrowed without asking), I wouldn’t have been in the wrong place at the wrong time, and I wouldn’t have been pushed in front of that arriving train. But I did, and I was.

When I came to, I was informed by a group of girls that I’m dead. And that because I died under mysterious circumstances, I can’t pass straight over to the Other Side. But at least I’m not alone. Meet the Dead Girls Detective Agency: Nancy, Lorna, and Tess–not to mention Edison, the really cute if slightly hostile dead boy. Apparently, the only way out of this limbo is to figure out who killed me, or I’ll have to spend eternity playing Nancy Drew. Considering I was fairly invisible in life, who could hate me enough to want me dead? And what if my murderer is someone I never would have suspected?

This book was okay… that’s it.The Dead Girls Detective Agency could have been really good if not for a few flaws that really bothered me.

The characters were all stereotypes and when I say everyone I mean everyone even the characters that do not even play a big role in the story. I admit Nancy and Lorna were fun characters and I did enjoy reading about them even though they did not have any character development or much depth. Tess(the mean girl) is my second favorite character as she had development and depth. I felt for her and sympathised with her. Edison was a pretty good character to but sometimes I just felt he was there just so Charlotte could have a boyfriend. Charlotte the protagonist of The Dead Girl Detective Agency annoyed me…a lot. She did have her moments but her obsession with her boyfriend bothered me to the point I felt like jumping into the book and shake her for bit. Not ounce did she ever go see her parents, and only ounce did she actually check on her living friend Ali. I thought she was very judgmental and just plain bratty. My first favorite character in the book was the murderer of Charlotte. I do not know why but I felt more sorry for the crazy killer than all the other characters combined.

The story would have been good if there was more investigating than teen drama. I am okay with drama in a story but The Dead Girls Detective Agency made me feel like I was just watching some show about a girl spying on her boyfriend awhile said boyfriend is getting with other girls. The story did take off near the end of the middle part of the book(this saved the book from being a one star). The mystery took off and I started to feel excited as I was about to learn who was the murderer. The killer was someone you would never suspect and I was really impressed with the author when the killer was revealed. My conclusion: story was just okay.

The writing was really bad in my opinion. When reading this book I was getting very irritated with all the acronyms and abbreviations. Nobody I know speaks using OMG, OMFG, and obv. In my experience they say the whole word or sentence. The dialogue felt forced most of the time and the “funny moments” were never that funny. Sometimes the book could have a really good and emotional moment but then some “funny line” would come in and ruin the moment.

So The Dead Girls Detective Agency was just not my cup of tea.

I give The Dead Girls Detective Agency 2 out of 5 Stars

2 thoughts on “The Dead Girls Detective Agency by Suzy Cox: review

Leave a Reply

