Alice in Zombieland By Gena Showalter: review

Alice in Zombieland (White Rabbit Chronicles, #1)

Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter

She won’t rest until she’s sent every walking corpse back to its grave. Forever.

Had anyone told Alice Bell that her entire life would change course between one heartbeat and the next, she would have laughed. From blissful to tragic, innocent to ruined? Please. But that’s all it took. One heartbeat. A blink, a breath, a second, and everything she knew and loved was gone.

Her father was right. The monsters are real….

To avenge her family, Ali must learn to fight the undead. To survive, she must learn to trust the baddest of the bad boys, Cole Holland. But Cole has secrets of his own, and if Ali isn’t careful, those secrets might just prove to be more dangerous than the zombies….

Off with their heads.

I love Alice in Wonderland with all my heart! So when I saw this book at the store I had a heart attack of joy. I thought a book about Alice falling through a hole and then proceeding to chop off zombified versions of the inhabitants of Wonderland’s heads with a weapon would be the most awesome thing in the world. This book was not about Alice falling through a hole and then proceeding to chop off zombified versions of the inhabitants on Wonderland ‘s heads with a weapon. There were barely any Alice in Wonderland allusions to look out for which disappointed me greatly. I read it anyway and then found myself not being able to sleep without finishing the book.

Alice was a very awesome narrator. She was sarcastic, witty, and brave and I loved that about her. Through all the tragedy she has been through she soldiered on. Alice’s love interest in the story was a bad-boy named Cole. Cole was a typical bad-boy: Tough, handsome, and authoritative. I was annoyed by him at first but I grew to like him. He truly cared about Alice and her safety. Kat, Alice’s friend was a good character to. She was cheerful, she knew what she wanted and had confidence in herself. I really liked that even she had some development through the story as normally the friend of the main character have no purpose other than be the friend of the main character. Kat was not like that, as I learned about Kat I was able to sympathise with her and remember her as a person who had a role in the story. Alice’s other friends I hate with passion. I believe they were made to be hated so I applaud the author for that. I really wished the members of the Anti-Zombie gang had more development. We only get real development from three of them and two of them only had two sentences worth of development. I felt as if the members were faceless. They only had dialogue when they were speaking to Alice-which was pretty rare. I did grow to like the members that were given a face through the story.

The plot was pretty simple: Girl experiences tragedy. Girl aims for revenge for said tragedy. Girl falls in love for a bad-boy. I enjoyed the plot anyways. The unique elements the author puts in the story make up for the formulaic plot. The zombies were…..weird. In this book the zombies are spirits born from evil that feed on the spirits of humans and turning victims into new zombies. The twist on traditional zombies was pretty awesome. I enjoyed the Alice vs. Zombies fight scenes. I could clearly see what was going on.All in all Alice in Zombieland was a very enjoying read.

I give Alice in Zombieland 4 out of 5 White Rabbits

Leave a comment