Masque of the Red Death By Bethany Griffin: review

Masque of the Red Death (Masque of the Red Death, #1)

Masque of the Red Death by Bethany Griffin

Everything is in ruins.

A devastating plague has decimated the population, and those who are left live in fear of catching it as the city crumbles around them.

So what does Araby Worth have to live for?

Nights in the Debauchery Club, beautiful dresses, glittery makeup . . . and tantalizing ways to forget it all.

But in the depths of the club–in the depths of her own despair–Araby will find more than oblivion. She will find Will, the terribly handsome proprietor of the club, and Elliott, the wickedly smart aristocrat. Neither is what he seems. Both have secrets. Everyone does.

And Araby may find not just something to live for, but something to fight for–no matter what it costs her.

I really enjoyed reading this! Masque of the Red death had some very uncommon stuff for the YA genre: Drug use, self-destructive characters, a suicidal main character, and LOTS of death. This was the reason I picked up this book in the first place-the book was so unique I just had to buy it!

The characters were all very real. They all reacted to all the death and disease in different ways and were very interesting and unique. Most of the characters did a great amount of growing throughout the story.

The world building was just PERFECT!!!! I could imagine this really happen if a deadly disease really struck. The rich are able to survive and try to remain oblivious to all the chaos around them and the poor are just struggling to not get the disease. I really thought the idea of the Debauchery Club being a safe haven for the rich was really clever. I think the author did a really good job building the world and the characters.

The plot was great to! A revolution to help the struggling people and their city-count me in! The love triangle in the story was pretty good to. There was actually competition between the two men. I did not know who Araby was going to pick until the very end. The pacing was perfect! I did not feel like the story was being rushed or going to slow just to fill up some more pages. The reason I am only giving it 4 Stars is because the book did not exactly make me feel like I would explode if I put the book down for a couple of days.

I really enjoyed reading this book! The ending was pretty open-ended but I was pretty satisfied with it but I am definitely going to get the next book when it comes out!

I give Masque of the Red Death 4 out of 5 Stars

Leave a Reply

