What’s Left of Me By Kat Zhang: review

What's Left of Me (The Hybrid Chronicles, #1)

What’s Left of Me by Kat Zhang

Eva and Addie started out the same way as everyone else—two souls woven together in one body, taking turns controlling their movements as they learned how to walk, how to sing, how to dance. But as they grew, so did the worried whispers. Why aren’t they settling? Why isn’t one of them fading? The doctors ran tests, the neighbors shied away, and their parents begged for more time. Finally Addie was pronounced healthy and Eva was declared gone. Except, she wasn’t . . .

For the past three years, Eva has clung to the remnants of her life. Only Addie knows she’s still there, trapped inside their body. Then one day, they discover there may be a way for Eva to move again. The risks are unimaginable-hybrids are considered a threat to society, so if they are caught, Addie and Eva will be locked away with the others. And yet . . . for a chance to smile, to twirl, to speak, Eva will do anything.

I love love love this book all the way down to the scratches on the cover! The book was so awesome my mind was blown to smithereens. I LOVED the characters in this book, they are probably 90% of the reason I love this story so much. They are very well crafted into very real, unique characters. I wouldn’t be surprised to bump into them on the street because they seem so real. If this book had no names mentioned when a character was saying something I would STILL know who was talking! I think the author did very well with the personalities of Addie and Eva expecially. I was afraid I would get the two mixed up but Addie and Eva have very distinct personalities. Addie is reserved and reluctant but still cares very much for the people around her and Eva is sad, quiet and determined. All the other characters are also masterpieces.

The plot and writing was great. At first the writing confused because the story is from the point of view from Eva, the girl trapped inside her own body. She narrated by saying our hands, our legs, and we. It kind of put me off at first but I got used to it quickly. The way the author describes the way the two souls of a body connect was really beautiful. The plot was very good to. The pacing was perfect and I was always eager to know what would happen next.

I REALLY enjoyed this book and I am sure you will to! I am now awaiting for the next book in the series. I am tearing my hair out in anticipation BUT the loss of hair is worth it.

I give What’s Left of Me 4.5 out of 5 Stars

Leave a Reply

