The Edge Of Never by J.A. Redmerski: review

The Edge of Never (The Edge of Never, #1)The Edge Of Never by J.A. Redmerski

Series: The Edge of Never #1

My Rating: 1.5 out of 5 Stars

Age Group: New Adult

Genre: Contemporary, Romance

Publisher: Self Published

Release Date: November 15th 2012

Synopsis: Twenty-year-old Camryn Bennett thought she knew exactly where her life was going. But after a wild night at the hottest club in downtown Raleigh, North Carolina, she shocks everyone-including herself-when she decides to leave the only life she’s ever known and set out on her own. Grabbing her purse and her cell phone, Camryn boards a Greyhound bus ready to find herself. Instead, she finds Andrew Parrish.

Sexy and exciting, Andrew lives life like there is no tomorrow. He persuades Camryn to do things she never thought she would and shows her how to give in to her deepest, most forbidden desires. Soon he becomes the center of her daring new life, pulling love and lust and emotion out of her in ways she never imagined possible. But there is more to Andrew than Camryn realizes. Will his secret push them inseparably together-or destroy them forever?

My Thoughts:

I will say without any hesitation that The Edge of Never has committed the serious sin known as cover-fraud. Okay, okay, I know I shouldn’t be suckered into reading a book because of the cover, but look at that it! I just want to grab that cover and hug it. Unfortunately, the content under the cover is not something I want to hug.

image

The story could have been an amazing, emotional, and ultimately extraordinary love story. But the execution wasn’t up to par. There were many moments that were tedious to get through and some that had me wondering what purpose they made to the story.

One of my main issues with The Edge of Never is how offensive it is. There is slut-shaming, misogyny, rape jokes, bad portrayal of women, and bad portrayal of men. And what makes me angry is how easily Redmerski could have avoided this. It is not that hard to delete a sentence that is offensive from a page. It really isn’t.

The topic of depression should be handled carefully and with experienced hands. I don’t think Redmerski did very well with writing about depression. I couldn’t actually believe that Camryn was actually suffering from depression, and the way she recovered her zest for life is a bad portrayal of the people who are struggling through depression, I think. I am no expert on depression so take this paragraph with a grain of salt.

I barely had any emotional connection other than indifference to Camryn and Andrew. Camryn is judgmental, full of herself, and hypocritical. I couldn’t find it within me to feel sorry for her most of the time. And the moments I could sympathise for her were short lived. Andrew was a teensy but better, but even he got on my nerves. The decisions he made were very stupid at times and I couldn’t understand them. And as a love interest, Andrew was terrible.

The romance in the novel was mediocre at best sometimes. I will acknowledge that there were a few cute moments, but the happy feelings I got from those short scenes were completely obliterated whenever Andrew mentioned that he owned Camryn’s freedom. The misogyny in Andrew and Camryn’s relationship is blatant and rage-inducing.

The prose isn’t the very impressive. There are many weird phrases uses, and many words were use repetitively. Redmerski also made the characters say some odd things that only ruined meaningful moments instead of increasing their quality.

The road trip is the best element of The Edge of Never. I never tire of books that are about getting in a car and driving into new locations and discovering new things. The road trip element is the reason why I never got bored of this book.

I am sorry for this ultra rambly review, but I had a lot to say about this book even though it was mostly horrid. The Edge of Never wasn’t at all the great introduction to the NA Contemporary genre that I wanted it to be. Now only one question remains. Will I be reading the sequel? Heck, no.

*buddy read with Nenia :)

10 thoughts on “The Edge Of Never by J.A. Redmerski: review

    • I wasn’t what you would call a fan :P I am glad that you were able to enjoy the book though! I just couldn’t get past all the bad things I noticed. Andrew’s possessiveness was just plain stupid -_-

  1. I was completely drawn in by the cover as well (although I haven’t read the book). I don’t think I’m going to be reading this one, needless to say. Great review!

  2. I honestly wanted to read this book because I want to expand my horizons and begin reading NA…but WOW. I’m wary now. I don’t even know if I want to read it because everything you mentioned will be very offensive to me and I’ll probably just get angry.

    • I wanted to expand my horizons and start reading NA with this book, too. But from my experience with The Edge of Never I will recommend you to try out a different book. Maybe Ten Tiny Breaths? That one seems much better (and less offensive) than this NA book :) (Keep in mind that I am just going by other people’s reviews.)

  3. Girl, I loved the cover at the very first look. Then I saw 1.5 stars next to it. I was wondering what happened??.. Then I read the synopsis and still I wondered what the heck happened?.. Then the review came and I understood. I will stay far away from this book and not let it’s beguiling looks (*cover*) draw me in… Excellent review!

    • Yes! Stay away from this book! Pretty cover, but terrible contents. It really surprises me that there is so much ballyhoo going on about this book >.<
      Thank you!

Leave a Reply

